India Team for South Africa ODI & T20 Series, 2018

India team for South Afrca ODI & T20

Indian Selectors have selected a full power team for both ODI and T20 squads for the South Africa limited-overs series. It was almost a same team for both ODI & T20 where 12 of the 17 players in the ODI squad for India is also there in the Indian squad for T20 against South Africa. Suresh Raina has been called back to play in the T20 Series against South Africa thanks to his exceptional and consistent performances in the Syed Mushtaq Ali trophy when he played for his state Uttar Pradesh last week.

The 1st ODI starts on February 1st in Kingsmead, Durban.

Check the Schedule for ODI & T20 Series here…

Rohit Sharma & Shikhar Dhawan will open the innings for India in both ODI & T20. Ajinkya Rahane & KL Rahul are selected as the 3rd opening option in ODI & T20 respectively.

The Middle Order will have a slight mix up in both the formats as Suresh Raina might get in for 4h or 5th wicket in T20 whereas Shreyas Iyer & Kedar Jadhav might play in ODIs.

Despite the changes, Skipper Virat Kohli, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik & MS Dhoni will feature in both the formats. It is going to be a huge task for the Captain & the coach to decide on the line up with these many options to fill.

In bowling, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal & Kuldeep Yadav will form the Spin-trio. It is expected mostly that only one of the three will be selected for every match with the conditions of South Africa will support pace bowling. Yuzvendra Chahal might be the favourite to play mostly as South African batting line-up is filled with more right-handers than the left-handers.

Coming to the fast bowling department, India has selected 4 Pacers each for both the squads. Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar & Shardul Thakur will play both the ODI & T20 matches whereas Mohammed Shami(playing in ODI team) will be replaced by Jaydev Unadat in the T20s.


India team for South Africa ODI Series, 2018

Virat Kohli (Capt), MS Dhoni, Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik, Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami.


Indian team for South Africa T20 Series, 2018

Virat Kohli(Capt), MS Dhoni, Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Suresh Raina, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Jaydev Unadkat.


Indian team after 3rd Test win against South Africa


Though the Indian team lost the Test series 2-1, the way they came back strong in the last test match showed the team’s character and it has shown us how the limited overs cricket will not be a one-sided event.

With both the teams have players who are more suited for the limited overs game, it is going to be a hell of a tournament.


Check the Schedule for ODI & T20 Series here…

Join the visitors who are receiving my articles on Cricket......
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.