Asia Cup was started as a cricket tournament among the Asian Nations by the Asian Cricket Council (ACC).

It has been scheduled to be conducted once in every 2 years.

The first edition of the Asia Cup was held on 1984 between the three Asian cricketing powers – India, Pakistan & Sri Lanka.

It has been one of the most politically affected cricket tournaments due to the weak political relations between the Asian Countries.

Since the start of this tournament, we have had 16 editions, including 14 ODI tournaments & 2 T20 tournaments.

Who has won the Asia Cup tournament from 1984 to 2023?

1984U.A.E.3 IndiaSunil GavaskarSri LankaSurinder Khanna (IND)
1986Sri Lanka3Sri LankaDuleep MendisPakistanArjuna Ranatunga (SL)
1988Bangladesh4IndiaDilip VengsarkarSri LankaNavjot Singh Sidhu (IND)
1990/91India3IndiaMohammad AzharuddinSri LankaNot Awarded
1995U.A.E.4IndiaMohammad AzharuddinSri LankaNavjot Singh Sidhu (IND)
1997Sri Lanka4Sri LankaArjuna RanatungaIndiaArjuna Ranatunga (SL)
2000Bangladesh4PakistanMoin KhanSri LankaYousuf Youhana (PAK)
2004Sri Lanka6Sri LankaMarvan AtapattuIndiaSanath Jayasuriya (SL)
2008Pakistan6Sri LankaMahela JayawardeneIndiaAjantha Mendis (SL)
2010Sri Lanka4IndiaMS DhoniSri LankaShahid Afridi (PAK)
2012Bangladesh4PakistanMisbah-ul-HaqBangladeshShakib Al Hasan (BAN)
2014Bangladesh5Sri LankaAngelo MathewsPakistanLahiru Thirumanne (SL)
2016Bangladesh5IndiaMS DhoniBangladeshSabbir Rahman (BAN)
2018U.A.E.6IndiaRohit SharmaBangladeshShikhar Dhawan (IND)
2022U.A.E.6Sri LankaDasun ShanakaPakistanWanindu Hasaranga
2023Pakistan6IndiaRohit SharmaSri LankaKuldeep Yadav (IND)

Which team has won the Asia Cup, the most times?

India has won the Asia Cup Tournament 8 times, which is the most by any team.

  1. India- 8 times
  2. Sri Lanka – 6 times
  3. Pakistan – 2 times

India has won the Asia Cup in 1984, 1988, 1990/91, 1995, 2010, 2016, 2018, & 2023.

Sri Lanka comes second with 5 Trophies in 1986, 1997, 2004, 2008, 2014 & 2022.

Pakistan was the Champions in 2010 & 2012.

No other Asian teams, including Bangladesh, have won a single edition of the Asia Cup.

Most successful cricketers in tournament history

Navjot Singh Sidhu (IND) & Arjuna Ranatunga (SL) has won the maximum “Man of the Tournament” awards in the Asia Cup.

They have both won the “Man of the Series” in Asia Cup twice – Sidhu in 1988 & 1995; Ranatunga in 1986 & 1997.

Inarticle 80

Arjuna Ranatunga had ended as the top scorer of the tournament, 3 times in Asia Cup – which is the most by any player.

On the bowling front, another Sri Lankan, Lasith Malinga, has finished as the most wicket-taker of the tournament twice in 2010 & 2014.

Click on the link to know the list of leading run-scorers and wicket-takers of the tournament.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *