World Cup

Australia at the T20 World Cup – Results Every Edition

Australia is unarguably the most dominant force in world cricket, winning every major ICC event across formats. They have extended their superior performance in the shortest format as well.

The Australian cricket team was a consistent force in 3 of the 4 T20 World Cups between 2007 and 2012. Their performance went downhill in the following 2 editions, but they bounced back strongly, clinching the trophy for the first time in 2021.

This article will delve into Australia’s performance in each T20 World Cup edition.

Australia’s Performance in Every T20 World Cup Edition

YearEdition ResultMatches PlayedWonLostTiedNo Result
2009Group Stage20200
2010Runner Up76100
2014Super 1041300
2016Super 1042200
2022Super 1243100

Key Insights

In 2021, Australia became the sixth team to win the T20 World Cup. Aaron Finch led the Aussies to the title triumph, adding another silverware to their trophy cabinet.

6 matches won by Australia in 2010 and 2021 are the joint-most wins by a team in a single T20 World Cup edition. And they are the only team to win 6 matches each in 2 iterations.

In the 2009 edition, Australia crashed out of the campaign in the group stage with zero wins. That’s the only tournament where the Kangaroos finished in the group stage or first round.

Australia have qualified for the T20 World Cup knockouts 4 times, reaching the semi-final and final twice each.

8 matches won by Aaron Finch are the most by an Australian captain in T20 World Cup history. He led Australia in 10 matches in the 2021 and 2022 editions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *