Big Bash League – Winners List (From 2012 To Date)

Australia’s biggest T20 festival Big Bash League, also called BBL, has been growing every year since its inauguration in late 2011.

Sydney Sixers conquered the first edition of the 8-teams competition. The Sixers went on to win two more championships later. However, the Perth-based franchise – Perth Scorchers – has won the most BBL titles so far – 4.

This article will list the winners and runners teams of every BBL season from the 2011/12 edition to till date.

Big Bash League Winners List

2011/12Sydney SixersPerth Scorchers
2012/13Brisbane HeatPerth Scorchers
2013/14Perth ScorchersHobart Hurricanes
2014/15Perth ScorchersSydney Sixers
2015/16Sydney ThunderMelbourne Stars
2016/17Perth ScorchersSydney Sixers
2017/18Adelaide StrikersHobart Hurricanes
2018/19Melbourne RenegadesMelbourne Stars
2019/20Sydney SixersMelbourne Stars
2020/21Sydney SixersPerth Scorchers
2021/22Perth ScorchersSydney Sixers
2022/23Perth ScorchersBrisbane Heat
2023/24Brisbane HeatSydney Sixers

Key Stats

Perth Scorchers are also the team that has entered the finals of the Big Bash the most number of times – 7, followed by the Sixers, who have reached the final game six times.

Scorchers were the most successful at the start of the league as they made it into the finals of the first four seasons – winning two and losing two.

The Sixers were in the finals of the last three seasons in a row- 2020, 2021, & 2022. They missed the chance of becoming the first team to win three BBL titles in a row after losing the 2022 finals against Scorchers.

Inarticle 80

The three times runners-up, Melbourne Stars, and two times runner-up, Hobart Hurricanes, are the two sides that haven’t won the tournament so far.

Read now: The Youngest and Oldest Debutants in Test Cricket

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *