Border Gavaskar TrophyStatsIndeed

List: “Player of the Tournament” in all Border Gavaskar Trophy Series

We have all seen how the best players show up in the biggest of matches, and there couldn’t be any bigger stage than the Border Gavaskar Trophy itself. When two of the leading cricketing sides contest in the toughest of formats, the hardest of characters shine bright and will not be just the Player of the moments but the tournament.

This article will list the winners of the Man of the Series awards in all the Border-Gavaskar trophy tournaments since its inception in 1996.

1996–97 IndiaIndia (1-0) Nayan Mongia
1997–98 IndiaIndia (2-1) Sachin Tendulkar
1999–2000 AustraliaAustralia (3-0) Sachin Tendulkar (C)
2000–01 IndiaIndia (2-1) Harbhajan Singh
2003–04 AustraliaDrawn (1-1) Rahul Dravid
2004–05 IndiaAustralia (2-1) Damien Martyn
2007–08 AustraliaAustralia (2-1) Brett Lee
2008–09 IndiaIndia (2-0) Ishant Sharma
2010–11 IndiaIndia (2-0) Sachin Tendulkar
2011–12 AustraliaAustralia (4-0) Michael Clarke (C)
2012–13 IndiaIndia (4-0) Ravichandran Ashwin
2014–15 AustraliaAustralia (2-0) Steve Smith
2016–17 IndiaIndia (2-1) Ravindra Jadeja
2018–19 AustraliaIndia (2-1) Cheteshwar Pujara
2020–21 AustraliaIndia (2-1) Pat Cummins
2022–23 IndiaIndia (2-1)Ravindra Jadeja/Ravichandran Ashwin

Key Stats

The 1996 edition has only one Test in that series, so we have named the Player of the Match, Nayan Mongia, in the PoT spot, but we haven’t included him in the counts below.

Ten out of 15 times, an Indian player has received the MoS recognition, whereas Australian players have won it 5 times.

Sachin Tendulkar has won the Player of the Tournament in the BGT series thrice. Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, and the leading run-scorer in BGT tournament history, Sachin Tendulkar are the only three players to win the award for more than once.

Eight times batters have won the award, whereas bowlers have won it six times, considering Ravindra Jadeja as a bowler as he was the leading wicket-taker(25) of that edition but not part of the top ten run-scorers. Only for the first time, in 2023 edition, the Man of the Series was given to Jadeja and Ashwin together.

Ravichandran Ashwin and Jadeja, two of the top-5 wicket-takers in the tournament, have two MOS in the Test series against Australia.

Sachin and Pat Cummins are the only two players to win the award in the losing causes for their respective teams.

As mentioned in the table with a (C), Sachin and Michael Clarke have been the BGT MoS playing as captains.

Also Read: 10 Unbreakable Sachin Tendulkar Records Ever!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *