MS Dhoni, the former Indian captain, tops the captaincy chart in the Border Gavaskar Trophies with 13 matches and 8 wins as a captain.

It is challenging to lead the team in a high-pressure tournament like BGT, and even the greatest of captains like Ricky Ponting, Saurav Ganguly, and Steve Waugh have struggled to retain their supremacy. Even the captains like Virat Kohli and Waugh, who were utterly dominant over their opponents during their captaincy stint, found it challenging in BGT.

Here is the list of the captains, who have played 8 or more BGT Test matches as captain and their records!

MS Dhoni (IND)1384161.53
Ricky Ponting (AUS)1126318.18
Steve Waugh (AUS)1053250.00
Virat Kohli (IND)1034330.00
Sourav Ganguly (IND)933333.33
Steve Smith (AUS)932433.33
Michael Clarke (AUS)853062.50
Tim Paine (AUS)824225.00

Read: Border Gavaskar Trophy – Head to Head Stats

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *