StatsIndeedWorld Cup

Top 10: Captains with Most Wins in T20 World Cup History

The T20 World Cup is a prestigious tournament in the shortest format. All participating teams set their eyes on the big prize, with captains being the driving force behind the aim.

In such a high-stakes tournament, it’s tough to lead teams, as a captain’s leadership and strategic acumen can make a huge difference in their team’s overall campaign.

The T20 World Cup has seen some notable captains lead by example, guiding their teams to several wins.

This article will list the top 10 captains with the most wins in T20 World Cup history.

Captains with Most Wins in T20 World Cup

CaptainMatchesWonLostTiedNRWin %
MS Dhoni (IND)3320111160.60
Kane Williamson (NZ)181260066.67
Daren Sammy (WI)181151161.11
Graeme Smith (SA)161150068.75
Kumar Sangakkara (SL)141040071.42
Babar Azam (PAK)15951060.00
Dasun Shanaka (SL)16970056.25
Paul Collingwood (ENG)17880147.05
Aaron Finch (AUS)10820080.00
Eoin Morgan (ENG)12840066.67

Key Insights

MS Dhoni holds the record for registering the most wins as a captain in T20 World Cup history. Captain Cool led India in 33 games across 6 editions between 2007 and 2016, winning 20 of them.

33 matches captained by Dhoni are also the most in the global T20 tournament. He is the only skipper to lead in 30+ T20 World Cup matches.

Also Read | MS Dhoni Captaincy Record [All formats]

80: The win percentage of Aaron Finch as a captain of Australia. This is the highest win percentage among the skippers who have led in 10 or more World Cup matches.

2: Daren Sammy is the only skipper to win the T20 World Cup twice while leading a team. He led the West Indies to title triumphs in 2012 and 2016.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *