Double centuries in ODI cricket are considered legendary as it is considered impossible once.

Sachin Tendulkar, India’s Master-batsman, was the first men’s cricketer to score a double hundred in ODI in a match against South Africa, which was then followed by Virender Sehwag’s 219 vs West Indies.

Overall, it is Melinda Clark, Australian women cricketer who scored the first-ever double century in the limited-overs cricket, way back in 1997, in Mumbai, against Denmark.

There are currently 12 200+ scores in ODI cricket; 10 in Men’s game.

Out of these 10, 7 double centuries are scored by Indian batsmen :

3 – Rohit Sharma

1 – Sachin Tendulkar

1 – Virender Sehwag

1 – Ishan Kishan

1 – Shubman Gill

Here we see the list of players who have scored double centuries in ODI. Also, these are the highest scores in the One day Cricket!!!

200s in Men’s ODI

264Rohit Sharma (IND)SL2014Kolkata
237*Martin Guptill (NZ)WI2015Wellington
219Virender Sehwag (IND)WI2011Indore
215Chris Gayle (WI)ZIM2015Canberra
210*Fakhar Zaman (PAK)ZIM2018Bulawayo
210Ishan Kishan (IND)BAN2022Chattogram
209Rohit Sharma (IND)AUS2013Bangalore
208*Rohit Sharma (IND)SL2017Mohali
208Shubman Gill (IND)NZ2023Hyderabad
200*Sachin Tendulkar (IND)SA2010Gwalior

200s in Women’s ODI

232*Amelia Kerr (NZ)IRE2018Dublin
229*Melinda Clark (AUS)DEN1997Mumbai

Take-Away Points

players with double centuries in ODI
Players with Double Centuries in ODI

Rohit became the first person to score 3 double centuries in ODI cricket.

Rohit’s 208 against Sri Lanka includes 12 sixes and 13 fours and the mighty innings came in 153 Balls.

Also, Rohit became the 1st player to hit 2 double centuries in ODI against one country i.e. Sri Lanka in this occasion.

Both the 200+ scores of Martin Guptill and Chris Gayle came up in the 2015 ICC ODI World Cup.

Latest Entry to the ODI 200 Club

The Indian youngster, Shubman scored his highest ever ODI score in a form of double century against New Zealand in Hyderabad.

Now it’s time for some guessing game!

Whom do you think will get added to the above list of players soon?

Comment your options in the comment section!

Buvanesh Thiraviam - writer in Cricindeed

A Cricket Blogger | Blogs at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *