World Cup

England at the T20 World Cup – Results Every Edition

England introduced the world to the shortest format, T20I cricket, in the early 2000s. However, it took them some time to get the hang of the format, as the Three Lions struggled in the first 2 T20 World Cup editions.

But in 2010, England made a quick turnaround and went on to clinch their first World Cup title. Since then, they have been a potent force in T20Is, and they proved it by winning the trophy for the second time in 2022.

This article will glance at England’s performance in every T20 World Cup edition.

England’s Performance in Every T20 World Cup Edition

YearEdition ResultMatches PlayedWonLostTiedNo Result
2007Super 851400
2009Super 852300
2012Super 852300
2014Super 1041300
2016Runner Up64200

Key Insights

England is one of the teams, along with the West Indies, to win the T20 World Cup twice. They first clinched the trophy in 2010, England’s first-ever major ICC title, and won again in 2022.

Coincidentally, both times, England won 5 matches, which is the most matches they have won in a single edition.

England have made it to the T20 World Cup knockouts 4 times, qualifying for the final 3 times and reaching the semi-final once.

Paul Collingwood and Eoin Morgan won 8 matches each as captains, the most for England. Collingwood was also at the helm of the England team in the 2010 triumph. Jos Buttler is the other skipper to lead England to their second T20 World Cup title.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *