During his electrifying knock of 175* in 2013 against PWI, Chris Gayle broke numerous batting records, one of which is the fastest century In IPL history.

Fastest Centuries in IPL

Chris Gayle30175RCBPWI2013
Yusuf Pathan37100RRMI2010
David Miller38101PBKSRCB2013
Travis Head39102SRHRCB2024
Will Jacks41100*RCBGT2024
Adam Gilchrist 42109Deccan ChargersMI2008
AB de Villiers43129RCBGL2016
David Warner43126SRHKKR2017
Sanath Jayasuriya45114MICSK2008
Mayank Agarwal45106PBKSRR2020
Murali Vijay46127CSKRR2010
Chris Gayle46117RCBPBKS2010
Table: Top 10 Fastest IPL Centuries

Stats insights

Before Gayle, the record was held by Yusuf Pathan, who scored a 37-ball hundred in the 2010 season for Rajasthan Royals. His quick-fire knock is still the fastest century by an Indian batsman and the quickest century by a non-opening batsman. Besides, it is also the fastest century while chasing a target, but the chase wasn’t successful even after Pathan’s magnificence. And, that’s why we rate him among these underrated gems of IPL.

The top rank holder, Gayle, ranks only at the 5th position when it comes to scoring the fastest IPL fifty. It is KL Rahul who holds that tag with a 14-balls fifty against Delhi in 2018. Here’s the top 10 list.

David Miller’s 101* off 38 deliveries is the quickest century scored in a successful chase.

Slowest Centuries in IPL

After finding out the fastest centurions, most of you must be wondering who the slowest centurions are, and we are here to quench your thirst.

Hence, the slowest-ever IPL centurions are tabulated below:

Virat Kohli67113*RCBRR2024
Manish Pandey 67114RCBDECCAN CHARGERS2009
Sachin Tendulkar 66100MIKKR2011
David Warner66107DCKKR2010
Jos Buttler66100RRMI2022
Kevin Pietersen64103DCDECCAN CHARGERS2012
KL Rahul63100PBKSMI2019
Ambati Rayudu62100CSKSRH2018
KL Rahul62132PBKSRCB2020
Ben Stokes61103RRGL2017
Lendl Simmons61100MIPBKS2014
Table: Top 10 Slowest IPL Centuries

Stats Insights

The slowest century in IPL is Manish Pandey’s only century in his IPL career. He is also the first Indian centurion in the tournament.

Inarticle 80

Though Virat Kohli has 5 IPL centuries to his name (second-placed in the most IPL centuries list), his name is not in both the fastest and slowest ten lists.

Both the fastest and slowest IPL centuries came from RCB players.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *