The fast-paced nature of the T20I format has prompted batters to score runs quickly from the word go. Once a batter comes to the crease, their only aim is to smash the bowlers across the park and score runs at a huge strike rate.

In this process, some batters hammer the fastest centuries leaving fans and cricket experts in awe. Their sheer power-hitting skills and resilience come in handy to achieve this mind-boggling feat.

So, in this article, let’s take a look at the top 10 fastest centuries in T20I cricket.

Fastest Centuries in T20Is

PlayerTeamBalls TakenAgainstVenueDate
Jan Nicol Loftie-EatonNamibia33Nepal Kirtipur27 Feb 2024
Kushal MallaNepal 34MongoliaHangzhou27 Sept 2023
David MillerSouth Africa35BangladeshPotchefstroom29 Oct 2017
Rohit SharmaIndia35Sri LankaIndore22 Dec 2017
Sudesh WickramasekaraCzech Republic35TurkeyIlfov County30 Aug 2019
Sivakumar PeriyalwarRomania39TurkeyIlfov County29 Aug 2019
Zeeshan KukikhelHungary39AustriaLower Austria05 Jun 2022
Johnson CharlesWest Indies39South AfricaCenturion26 March 2023
Kendel Kadowaki-FlemingJapan40South KoreaSano15 Oct 2022
Ollie HairsScotland40ItalyEdinburgh24 Jul 2023

Key insights from the above stats

33: Namibia’s Jan Nicol Loftie-Eaton whacked the fastest T20I century, taking one less ball than Kushal Malla. Loftie-Eaton brought up his hundred off 33 balls against Nepal on 27 February 2024, breaking past Malla’s 34-ball century record.

34: In September 2023, the cricketing world was amazed when Nepal’s Kushal Malla smashed a 34-ball century against Mongolia in the 2023 Asian Games.

314: Kushal Malla’s 137* and Dipendra Singh Airee’s 52* helped Nepal post 314/3 on the scoreboard — the highest team total in men’s T20I. Meanwhile, Airee’s 50 came in just 9 balls, making it the fastest fifty in the shortest format.

3: David Miller, Rohit Sharma, and Sudesh Wickramasekara have all smashed their centuries in 35 balls. Notably, Miller and Sharma etched their hundreds 2 months apart from each other in 2017.

2: On 2 back-to-back days, Turkey faced mayhem from the batters of Czech Republic and Romania. On 29 August 2019, Sivakumar Periyalwar scored the fastest century for Romania in 39 balls, while the next day, Sudesh Wickramasekara slammed the fastest hundred for the Czech Republic in 35 balls. Both these innings came against Turkey at Ilfov County.

47: Chris Gayle, the swashbuckling batter from the Caribbean, holds the record for the fastest century in the T20 World Cup. He reached his 100 in 47 balls against England at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai in 2016.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *