The Indian Premier League (IPL) has seen some of the finest T20 batters ply their trade in the tournament. 

These batters have displayed many electrifying knocks, showcasing their power-hitting skills. Some have even hammered hundreds for fun and that too in record balls. 

Scoring a century in the T20 format is a tough task, but the batter’s blades are doing wonders with the game favouring them more.

Here, in this article, we will look at the fastest centuries scored for each team in IPL history.

Fastest Century for Each IPL Team

PlayerBalls Taken to 100Final ScoreTeam
Chris Gayle30175* (66)Royal Challengers Bengaluru
Yusuf Pathan37100 (37)Rajasthan Royals
David Miller38101* (38)Punjab Kings
Travis Head39102 (41)Sunrisers Hyderabad
Adam Gilchrist42109* (47)Deccan Chargers
Sanath Jayasuriya45114* (48)Mumbai Indians
Murali Vijay46127 (56)Chennai Super Kings
Virender Sehwag48119 (56)Delhi Capitals
Venkatesh Iyer49104 (51)Kolkata Knight Riders
Shubman Gill49129 (60)Gujarat Titans
Steven Smith53101 (54)Rising Pune Supergiants
KL Rahul56103* (60)Lucknow Super Giants

Key Insights

Apart from the 12 teams mentioned above, 3 more teams — the Pune Warriors, Kochi Tuskers Kerala, and Gujarat Lions — participated in the IPL. However, no batter scored a century for them in the league. 

Chris Gayle holds the unassailable record for scoring the fastest century in the IPL. The mighty Caribbean batter brought up his hundred off a mere 30 balls while playing for the Royal Challengers Bangalore (now Bengaluru) in 2013. Eventually, Gayle ended up with an unbeaten 175 in 66 balls, which is the highest individual score in the IPL.

Likewise, RCB also has the slowest hundreds in the league. Manish Pandey (vs Deccan Chargers, 2009) and Virat Kohli (vs Rajasthan Royals, 2024) completed their 3-figure mark in 67 balls.

Travis Head’s 39-ball hundred for the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) helped the team post the IPL’s highest team total on the scoreboard. SRH scored 287 runs in 20 overs, breaking past their own 2-week-old record of 277 runs (vs MI).

Inarticle 80

Shubman Gill’s 49-ball ton for the Gujarat Titans is also the joint-fastest in the IPL Playoffs. Gill scored his third IPL hundred against MI in the 2023 Qualifier 2 match. 

Wriddhiman Saha (PBKS vs KKR, 2014 Final) and Rajat Patidar (RCB vs LSG, 2022 Eliminator) are the 2 other batters to reach their centuries off 49 balls in the Playoffs. (Check out the list of batters with hundreds in the IPL Playoffs here.)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *