Fastest to 1000, 2000, 3000, 4000, 5000, & 6000 IPL Runs

IPL batting gets better and better with the seasons as the six-hitting ability of the batsmen is on the rise.

Having said that, only a few batsmen could stay relevant to their sides for a long time and score tons of runs for their teams. And very few among them get to the milestones quicker.

This article will list the fastest batsmen to reach the IPL batting milestones of 1000, 2000, 3000, 4000, 5000, & 6000 overall runs in the tournament.

Fastest to 1000 IPL Runs

Shaun Marsh21
Lendl Simmons23
Matthew Hayden25
Sai Sudharsan25
Jonny Bairstow26
Chris Gayle27
Kane Williamson28
Michael Hussey30
Sachin Tendulkar31
Ruturaj Gaikwad31

Nobody can forget the rocket of a season Shaun Marsh had in the inaugural season of the tournament for his team Kings XI Punjab. Coming late into the tournament, Marsh ended as the Orange Cap of the 2008 season with fewer matches than the other top run-scorers that year. Unsurprisingly, he is still the fastest batter to reach 1000 runs in the Indian Premier League history.

Fastest to 2000 IPL Runs

Chris Gayle48
Shaun Marsh52
Ruturaj Gaikwad57
KL Rahul60
Sachin Tendulkar63
Shane Watson64
Rishabh Pant64
Jos Buttler65
Faf du Plessis67
Kane Williamson67
Gautam Gambhir68

It took Chris Gayle 21 innings to move from 1000 to 2000 IPL runs, the same number of innings Marsh took to score the first 1000.

Fastest to 3000 IPL Runs

Chris Gayle75
KL Rahul80
Jos Buttler85
David Warner94
Faf du Plessis94
Shubman Gill94
Quinton de Kock99
Suresh Raina103
Rishabh Pant103
AB de Villiers104

Gayle, who won two back-to-back Orange Caps in 2011 and 2012 with his favorite side, RCB, topped the next chart as he moved from 2000 to 3000 in 27 innings.

Fastest to 4000 IPL Runs

KL Rahul105
Chris Gayle112
David Warner114
Virat Kohli128
AB de Villiers131
Suresh Raina140
Gautam Gambhir140
Shikhar Dhawan141
Ajinkya Rahane144
Rohit Sharma147

KL Rahul, to be noted, only took 20 innings to move from his 2000 to 3000 IPL runs mark. Not stopping this, he has topped the list of quickest batters to reach the 4000 IPL runs milestone.

Without featuring in the first two lists, David Warner went on to crack the top 5 list of men cricketers who are fastest to 3000 and 4000 IPL runs.

Warner became the first player to win three Orange Caps in IPL history within this period. He also tops the chart of players with the most 500+ runs seasons in IPL.

Fastest to 5000 IPL Runs

David Warner135
Virat Kohli157
AB de Villiers161
Shikhar Dhawan168
Suresh Raina173
Rohit Sharma187
MS Dhoni208

Continuing his great form, Warner topped the list of batsmen who are the fastest to reach the special milestones of 5000 and 6000 runs in the IPL.

Virat Kohli, the first player to reach 5000, 6000, and 7000 runs milestones in IPL, is only behind Warner in all two lists.

MS Dhoni is the only lower-order batter to make it to the list of 5000 runs-scorers in the IPL.

Fastest to 6000 IPL Runs

David Warner165
Virat Kohli188
Shikhar Dhawan199
Rohit Sharma227
Inarticle 80

Warner is also currently the only overseas batter to cross 6000 runs in IPL, which is an incredible feat that is further excelled by the fact that he is topping the list.

Fastest to 7000 Runs in IPL

Virat Kohli225

In the season of IPL 2023, Virat Kohli became the first player in tournament history to make 7000 overall runs in IPL. In 233 matches and 225 innings, Virat landed at the 7K runs mark, which includes 5 centuries and 49 half-centuries, at an average of 36.87. 

You can find the progression of Virat Kohli’s IPL career and the best years of the former Indian and RCB captain, Virat Kohli, here in this link.

Relevant Read: The Records that Virat Kohli hold in the Indian Premier League

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *