The T20 International (T20I) format has changed the face of the gentleman’s game, cricket. Every ball in the shortest format is a spectacle, with batters lighting up the stage with their impeccable performances.

In the fast-paced version of this sport, batters have to score runs at staggering strike rates, as they have to make every ball count. In this process, many batters surpass milestone after milestone in a jiffy.

On that note, here are the top 10 batters who have been the fastest to 2000 runs in T20Is. 

Fastest to 2000 Runs in T20I

PlayerInnings to 2000 RunsTime Taken
Babar Azam (PAK)524y 230d
Mohammad Rizwan (PAK)527y 149d
Virat Kohli (IND)568y 21d
Suryakumar Yadav (IND)562y 273d
KL Rahul (IND)586y 94d
Aaron Finch (AUS)629y 236d
Virandeep Singh (MAL)644y 128d
Brendon McCullum (NZ)669y 40d
Martin Guptill (NZ)688y 347d
Mohammad Shahzad (AFG)6811y 272d

Key Insights

52: Pakistan’s duo, Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan, are the joint-fastest batters to reach the 2000-run mark in T20Is. Both took 52 innings to get to the milestone, with Azam doing so in April 2021 and Rizwan in September 2022.

2: Coincidentally, Rizwan and India’s KL Rahul crossed the 2000-run mark on the same day — 20 September 2022 — although while playing against different opponents.

2y 273d: Suryakumar Yadav, who made his T20I debut for India in March 2021, has surpassed 2000 runs the fastest in terms of time taken. On his way to 2000 runs, he wreaked havoc on bowlers, stamping his authority as a beast in T20Is.

25: More than 25 players have scored 2000+ runs in the T20I format.

14y 360d: Scotland’s Richie Berrington is the slowest batter to reach 2000 T20I runs in terms of time taken. It took him almost 15 years (14 years and 360 days) to go past the milestone.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *