Cricket Listicles

10 Greatest Victories of Indian Cricket

Indian cricket has a historic past that is littered with triumphs and glories that have left an everlasting impression on the sport’s worldwide scene. India’s cricketing odyssey has included amazing victories that have enthralled fans all over the world, from the sun-drenched fields of Mumbai to the revered turf of Lord’s in London. 

Let’s go on a journey to commemorate the ten greatest triumphs in Indian cricket, each of which is a monument to the passion and skill that have helped India become a cricketing superpower.

10. India vs Bangladesh | ICC T20 World Cup, 2016

Cricket fans will never forget the spectacular contest against Bangladesh at the Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru. After being invited to bat first, India managed to post 146 runs, with Suresh Raina (30) top-scoring with the bat for the Men in Blue.

During the chase, Bangladesh looked well on their way to conquering the target. Mushfiqur Raheem of Bangladesh began celebrating even before the victory as he hit back-to-back boundaries.

Now, 2 runs were required from 3 balls, but Bangladesh lost 2 back-to-back wickets, with 2 runs needed off 1 ball. This is the most memorable performance by Hardik Pandya with the ball.

Dhoni’s run out on the penultimate ball was amazing; he pulled off his glove and rushed like a lion chasing a deer. Dhoni’s intelligence and mental fortitude came into play once more, helping India win the match by 1 run.

9. India vs England | Natwest Final, 2000

Prior to the final against England, India had been the most consistent team in the tournament. Choosing to bat first, England set a target of 326 thanks to centuries from Marcus Trescothick and Nasser Hussain.

Coming out to chase, India needed a good start, which Sourav Ganguly and Virender Sehwag provided. Within the first 15 overs, India had reached 100, and they were well on their way to completing the chase.

India needed two runs in the final over, and when Zaheer Khan scampered for a run off an overthrow, the amazing victory was achieved. Only a few fans will forget the image of Sourav Ganguly waving his shirt at the Lord’s balcony.

8. India vs Pakistan | ICC World Cup, 2003

Pakistan batted first and scored 273 for 7 in 50 overs, with Saeed Anwar striking a magnificent 101. With Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag shredding Pakistan’s bowling assault, India came out all guns blazing.

Tendulkar, in particular, was brutal against the Pakistan quicks, slamming them all over the Supersport Park. He fell two short of what could have been an unforgettable hundred. It was therefore up to Rahul Dravid and Yuvraj Singh to bring India home, and they did so admirably.

7. India vs Australia | CB Series Final, 2008

Batting first, India achieved a competitive 258 for 9 in 50 overs, thanks to Sachin Tendulkar’s superb 91. For the Indians, Praveen Kumar struck early, dismissing Adam Gilchrist, Ricky Ponting, and Michael Clarke.

Matthew Hayden and Andrew Symonds put up a good fight before falling in rapid succession. Before Piyush Chawla dismissed James Hope, he had kept his team in the game with some lusty blows.

6. India vs Australia | Coca-Cola Trophy, 1998

India had advanced to the Coca-Cola Trophy finals thanks to Sachin Tendulkar’s stunning 143 in the last match of the league rounds. On the day of the final, India needed to chase 273 to win the title, and Tendulkar had to strike again.

Tendulkar struck another century for the second time in three days, destroying the Australian attack of Damien Fleming, Michael Kasprowicz, Tom Moody, and Shane Warne in all parts of the Sharjah Cricket Stadium to enable India to accomplish a spectacular win over the Aussies.

5. India vs Pakistan | World Cup Semi-Final, 2011

India batted first in this high-stakes game and got off to a quick start under Virender Sehwag. The pressure of the competition, however, had gotten to everyone except Sehwag.

After Sehwag’s dismissal, the wickets kept falling on the other end; however, Sachin stood on the other end and scored a crucial 85 runs. The lower order also cheaped in and helped India reach 260 runs.

Pakistan began their chase steadily before losing 4 wickets quickly with 106 runs on the board. Umar Akmal then threatened to take the match away from India, but Harbhajan Singh’s faster delivery terminated his stint in the middle.

With the exception of Misbah-ul-Haq, none of the other Pakistani batters managed to put up a meaningful total after that, as India cruised to an easy victory.

Also Read | India vs Pakistan: Head to Head in ODI World Cups

4. India vs England | Champions Trophy Final, 2013

The final was reduced to 20 overs each side due to rain. After being asked to bat first, India was in a bit of a bind at 66 for 5 and needed some fuel for their innings. Ravindra Jadeja provided that, and he and Virat Kohli gave India the much-needed push to lead them to 129 for 7 at the end of their 20 overs. 

While chasing, England was 4 down on 46 runs, then Eoin Morgan and Ravi Bopara launched a comeback to leave England 20 runs short before Ishant Sharma bowled a spectacular over in which he picked up two wickets in two balls and drastically changed the balance in India’s favour.

Then Jadeja dismissed Jos Buttler, and James Tredwell failed to hit the six needed off the final ball. With that, MS Dhoni became the first skipper to win all major ICC titles.

3. India vs Pakistan | ICC T20 World Cup, 2007

Inarticle 80

India won the inaugural ICC World T20 Championship on September 24, 2007, defeating Pakistan by 5 runs in a thrilling final in Johannesburg, South Africa. Players like Irfan Pathan and RP Singh rose to the occasion with their superb bowling, while the batsmen displayed their prowess throughout the competition.

Southpaw Indian opener Gautam Gambhir’s excellent effort (75 runs off 54 balls) enabled India to put up a defendable total in the finals, and the bowlers did the rest to win the match. Yuvraj Singh’s exclusive feat of striking sixes in an over of Stuart Board and scoring 50 in just 12 balls was one of the tournament’s talking points.

2. India vs Sri Lanka | ICC Cricket World Cup Final, 2011

India won the event by defeating Sri Lanka by 6 wickets in the final at Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium. With his game-winning 91* in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2011 championship match, MS Dhoni, Captain Cool, demonstrated his talent on the grandest of stages and helped India defeat Sri Lanka to claim the title.

The CWC’s greatest moment was when Dhoni finished it off in style, breaking the World Cup drought by lifting the title after 28 years. Yuvraj Singh was the tournament’s star performer, and the tournament served as an ideal gift for all the legends who retired immediately before or after 2011 and who worked tirelessly to make India the team that it is today.

1. India vs West Indies | World Cup, 1983

This is the Indian cricket team’s most significant achievement to date. On June 25, 1983, India defeated the then-champion West Indies by 43 runs in the finals.

The world got its second ODI cricket champion when Indian skipper Kapil Dev lifted the Cup on the historic Lords balcony in England after defeating the Mighty West Indies. Mohinder Amarnath was named Man of the Match in the tournament’s final and semi-finals, and his all-around ability and the team’s best performance helped India become World Champions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *