Tournaments like Indian Premier League are known for their high-scoring games and last-over thrillers. T20 is a format where the game can be changed in a few overs. While a cameo of 30 off 10 balls is always helpful, if a batsman goes on to score a big hundred, it puts his team in a powerful position.

From Chris Gayle and David Warner to Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli, the IPL has had many great batsmen, whether from foreign countries or India.

This article will examine the top 10 highest individual scores in IPL history.

Highest Individual Scores in IPL

Chris Gayle (RCB)175*66PWI265.1513/17Bengaluru2013
Brendon McCullum (KKR)158*73RCB216.4310/13Bengaluru2008
Quinton de Kock (LSG)140*70KKR20010/10DY Patil2022
AB de Villiers (RCB)133*59MI225.4219/4Wankhede2015
KL Rahul (PBKS)132*69RCB191.314/7Dubai (DSC)2020
AB de Villiers (RCB)129*52GL248.0710/12Bengaluru2016
Chris Gayle (RCB)128*62DC206.457/13Delhi2012
Rishabh Pant (DC)128*63SRH203.1715/7Delhi2018
Murali Vijay (CSK)12756RR226.788/11Chennai2010
David Warner (SRH)12659KKR213.5510/8Hyderabad2017

Stats Insights

McCullum set the IPL on fire and gave birth to what has become the best T20 league in the world with a blistering 158* in the inaugural match of the 2008 edition of the IPL. His swashbuckling innings against RCB at the Chinnaswamy stadium is also the highest IPL score by an away batsman.

Rishabh Pant’s 128 against SRH is the only century in the above list to come in a losing cause, thanks to the excellent batting from the SRH duo – Shikhar Dhawan and Kane Williamson.

Interestingly all ten scores in the list came while the batters batted first. The highest IPL score by a batsman while batting second is Paul Valthaty’s (Kings XI Punjab) unbeaten 63-balls 120, and it came in a successful chase against Chennai Super Kings in 2011.

Chris Gayle has scored plenty of centuries in T20 cricket, but none of those tons caused as much carnage as one he did in the summer of 2013. Facing Pune Warriors India, the Gayle Storm was in full force as the West Indian scored 175* off just 66 balls – the highest-ever score in T20 cricket history.

It is also the fastest century in any format of the game as it came in just 30 deliveries, and the innings hold the record for the most number of sixes hit in a single IPL innings.

Royal Challengers Bangalore posted a total of 263/5 (another record) and registered a 130-run victory. Gayle had won the orange in the previous two campaigns but somehow missed out in 2013 despite his magnificent knock against PWI.

De Villiers’s unbeaten 133 against Mumbai Indians, which is the only century in RCB vs MI matches to this day, is also the highest score by a No. 3 batter in IPL. It is also the highest-ever score by a non-opening batter in the tournament. De Villiers has scored 2 centuries for RCB, and both are a part of this list, indicating that when he gets going, he is tough to stop.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *