Top 10: Highest Powerplay Scores in IPL by Teams

The IPL history has witnessed the thump of many powerful batting line-ups, and thus meagre of them are so incredible to put belief on. When it comes to the highest scores in the history of the Indian Premier League, then a few franchises like Royal Challengers Bangalore, Kolkata Knight Riders and Chennai Super Kings top the list. The powerplay in the T20 format and IPL are of the first 6-overs. The batting teams get the chance to flourish their innings in the presence of only two fielders standing as boundary riders out of the 30-yard circle. But, the bowlers also have the advantage of the new ball in their hands. 

When it comes to smacking big hits during the powerplay phase, nobody could forget Chris Gayle’s hitting. In a league match where he scored a daddy ton of 175* runs, the powerplay score of RCB was 82 runs in that match.

So, here are the top 10 teams who have scored the most runs in the 6-over power play of the Indian Premier League.

Highest Powerplay Scores by Teams in IPL

Batting TeamPowerplay ScoreAgainstVenueDate
Sunrisers Hyderabad125Delhi CapitalsDelhi20 Apr 2024
Sunrisers Hyderabad107Lucknow Super GiantsHyderabad8 May 2024
Kolkata Knight Riders105Royal Challengers BangaloreBengaluru7 May 2017
Chennai Super Kings100Kings XI PunjabWankhede30 May 2014
Punjab Kings93Kolkata Knight RidersEden Gardens26 Apr 2024
Delhi Capitals92Mumbai IndiansDelhi27 Apr 2024
Royal Challengers Bengaluru92Gujarat TitansBengaluru4 May 2024
Chennai Super Kings90Mumbai IndiansWankhede17 Apr 2015
Kolkata Knight Riders88Delhi CapitalsVisakhapatnam3 Apr 2024
Delhi Capitals88Sunrisers HyderabadDelhi20 Apr 2024

#1 KKR – 105/0 vs RCB in 2017 (Bengaluru)

The top position in the list has been conquered by the two-time IPL champions, Kolkata Knight Riders. The likes of Sunil Narine & Chris Lynn have blazed the stage with their knocks of 54(17) and 50(22). They have put a total of 105/0 in the 6-overs of powerplay for their team KKR. 

#2 CSK – 100/2 vs KXIP in 2014 (Wankhede)

In a first league meetup against Kings XI Punjab, Chennai Super Kings set a target of 205 runs while batting first. Including the knocks of Dwayne Smith 66(43) & Faf Du Plessis 67(45) have achieved the figures of 100/2 in the power play phase for CSK, which is even higher than the powerplay batting record in International T20s. But, Punjab’s strong batting chased down the target and won the match by 6 wickets.

#3 CSK – 90/0 vs MI in 2015 (Wankhede)

In a league match against Mumbai Indians, Chennai has put a big total on the board for a chase, while their top order has contributed 90 runs in the first 6 overs of the powerplay. However, the first fifty runs were made in only 16 balls, and the run rate slowed down in the next 3 overs.

#4 KTK – 87/2 vs RR in 2011 (Indore)

In a 61st league match against Rajasthan Royals, Mahela Jayawardene leading Kochi Tuskers Kerala, scored 87 runs with two wickets in the powerplay. It has included the blistering knock from Brendon McCullum of 29*(12) with a strike rate of 241.60.

#5 KXIP – 86/1 vs SRH in 2014 (Hyderabad)

The explosive knocks of Manan Vohra 47(20) & Wriddhiman Saha 54(26) started the chase of 212 runs against SRH aggressively. Both have taken the score of Kings XI Punjab to 86/1 in the powerplay overs. Later, KXIP chased down the target by 6 wickets and still 1.2 overs to be bowled.

#6 RR – 85/1 vs SRH in 2023 (Hyderabad)

Once again, a visiting team brought the attack to the Hyderabad bowlers at SRH’s home venue, and this time, it was Rajasthan Royals after 9 years since the last incident. Jos Buttler and Yashasvi Jaiswal making full use of the batting-friendly nature of the Hyderabadi venue scored a mighty 85 runs in the powerplay overs. Especially Buttler, who took the attack to the next level hitting off-sided fours and leg-sided sixes of his own will. Coming back after a record-breaking 2022 season, Buttler continued his form to the tournament opener for his team.

The English white-ball skipper made a twenty-ball fifty before falling out to an uncapped bowler, Fazalhaq Farooqi. This is also Royal’s highest powerplay score in the tournament, beating the PP score of 81/1 against CSK in 2021.

#7 MI – 84/0 vs DC in 2018 (Wankhede)

Batting first, MI have put a total of 194 runs on the scoreboard. The aggressive knocks from top-order batters like Surya Kumar Yadav, Evin Lewis & Ishan Kishan took the score of MI to 84 runs in the first 6 overs. The total of 194 made by MI was easily chased down later by DC with the help of Jason Roy & Rishabh Pant’s knocks.

#8 DC – 84/1 vs DD in 2009 (Centurion)

Deccan Chargers has been the deadliest combination of ruthless & consistent batting in the IPL 2009. Adam Gilchrist has scored 85*(35) in an action-packed against Delhi Daredevils. DC has scored 84/1 in their first 6 powerplay overs and chased down the total of 155 runs by 6 wickets, as Gilchrist has been handed over the Man of the Match award.

#9 MI – 83/1 vs SRH in 2021 (Abu Dhabi)

Inarticle 80

Aiming for the unreal playoffs spot for the season, Mumbai Indians’ opener, Ishan Kishan, produced a dream start, hitting 32-ball 84, which took the side’s powerplay score into the top 10 powerplay score ever. The start was later accompanied by Suryakumar-special, which took the team to a winning total of 235 in 20 overs. Unfortunately, however, the win didn’t conquer the playoff spot for the team.

#10 PBKS – 83/1 vs RCB in 2022 (Brabourne)

Opening the batting with Shikhar Dhawan for Punjab Kings, the explosive English opener Jonny Bairstow made the day his own by hitting boundaries at a strike rate above 200. He blasted 22 runs in a Josh Hazlewood over and 23 off a Mohammed Siraj’s over inside the powerplay. Despite Glenn Maxwell’s 17/1 in 2 overs, PBKS managed to hop onto 83 runs at the end of Over 6. Thanks to Liam Livingstone, another English batter in the lineup, PBKS manages to post a 200+ score, which RCB failed to chase. The batting unit comprising Virat Kohli, Faf du Plessis, Glenn Maxwell, and Dinesh Karthik fell behind 54 runs in the chase.

Read: Most Runs Scored in Last 5 Overs by Teams in IPL

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *