Nowadays, T20 cricket has become synonymous with teams posting massive totals on the scoreboard. And it has become a necessity where no total is safe at all.

Thus, in high-stakes T20 leagues, teams bolster their batting lineups with power-hitters, helping them accumulate runs at a higher run rate. The IPL has stood witness to many such instances, resulting in high-scoring encounters.

This article will list the top 10 highest scores achieved by teams in IPL history.

Highest Team Totals in IPL

TeamTeam TotalAgainstVenueDate
Sunrisers Hyderabad287/3Royal Challengers BengaluruBengaluru15 Apr 2024
Sunrisers Hyderabad277/3Mumbai IndiansHyderabad27 Mar 2024
Kolkata Knight Riders272/7Delhi CapitalsVisakhapatnam3 Apr 2024
Sunrisers Hyderabad266/7Delhi CapitalsDelhi20 Apr 2024
Royal Challengers Bengaluru263/5Pune WarriorsBengaluru23 Apr 2013
Royal Challengers Bengaluru262/7Sunrisers HyderabadBengaluru15 Apr 2024
Punjab Kings262/2Kolkata Knight RidersEden Gardens26 Apr 2024
Kolkata Knight Riders261/6Punjab KingsEden Gardens26 Apr 2024
Delhi Capitals257/4Mumbai IndiansDelhi27 Apr 2024
Lucknow Super Giants257/5Punjab KingsMohali28 Apr 2023

Key Insights

287/3 is the highest team total scored in Indian Premier League (IPL) history. Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) posted a mammoth 287 runs on the board against the Royal Challengers Bengaluru at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in 2024.

Of the 263 runs scored by RCB, Chris Gayle notched up an unbeaten 175 runs off 66 balls. This is the highest individual score in the league’s history. On that day, the Chinnaswamy crowd witnessed the Gayle Storm, who slammed 13 fours and 17 sixes — the most sixes in an IPL innings.

Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) became only the second team to go past the 250-run mark in the IPL. The Lucknow-based team hammered 257 runs against Punjab Kings (PBKS) in Mohali in 2023.

PBKS, RCB, and Chennai Super Kings (CSK) have scored 230 or more runs 3 times each, while PBKS and Mumbai Indians have conceded 230+ runs 4 times each.

Inarticle 80

Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium, Bengaluru’s Chinnaswamy Stadium, and Delhi’s Arun Jaitley Stadium have registered 10 or more 200+ team totals in the IPL.

Read Next | Top 10: Lowest Team Totals in IPL History

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *