How Many Times has India Lost by 10 Wickets in ODIs?

India, being a formidable team in ODI cricket, has enjoyed great success against several opponents. However, there have been a few rare instances where the Indian team endured disappointing, huge defeats.

It’s not often that India goes down without giving a tough fight, but they have had some off days with bat and ball. On such occasions, their opponents have cornered them and handed them humbling defeats by 10-wicket margins.

So that leaves us with the question: how many times has India lost by 10 wickets in ODIs? The Men in Blue have suffered 10-wicket drubbings 6 times in the 50-over format.

Here is the complete list of matches India lost by 10 wickets in ODI cricket.

India’s 10-Wicket Losses in ODIs

India’s 1st Inn ScoreLost ToVenueDate
112/9New Zealand (113/0)Melbourne10 Jan 1981
199/7West Indies (200/0)Bridgetown3 May 1997
164/10South Africa (168/0)Sharjah22 Mar 2000
188/10South Africa (189/0)Eden Gardens25 Nov 2005
255/10Australia (258/0)Wankhede14 Jan 2020
117/10Australia (121/0)Visakhapatnam19 Mar 2023

(You can check out India’s 10-wicket losses in T20Is here.)

Key Insights

1: In 1981, India became the first full-member team and, overall, the second team to lose an ODI match by 10 wickets. They lost the 34-overs-per-side match against New Zealand in the 1981 Benson & Hedges World Series Cup.

India was also the first team to win a match by a 10-wicket margin in ODI cricket. This extraordinary victory came against East Africa in the 1975 Cricket World Cup, as India chased down a 121-run target without any damage.

3: India’s first 3 10-wicket losses have come in overseas conditions, while the next 3 have come at home.

The Men in Blue have suffered 2 defeats each by 10 wickets against South Africa and Australia in ODIs.

In March 2023, Australia thrashed India’s target of 117 runs with 234 balls to spare. This is India’s biggest margin of defeat in ODIs in terms of balls remaining.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *