Thanks to the Kiwi superstar Brendon McCullum, the Indian Premier League kicked off in 2008 in the most destructive manner possible.

That year, 5 more batsmen crossed the 100-runs mark taking the centuries tally to 6, the third-most joint with 2011, 2012, 2019, & 2022.

The maximum number of centuries scored in a season is 11 during the 2023 season. It is followed by the 2016 season; surprisingly, Virat Kohli contributed 4 to those 7. Find out Virat’s year by year IPL stats here.

So, here is the breakdown of IPL centuries as per seasons:

20086Brendon McCullum (158*)
20092Manish Pandey (114*)
20104Murali Vijay (127)
20116Paul Valthaty (120*)
20126Chris Gayle (128*)
20134Chris Gayle (175*)
20143Virender Sehwag (122)
20154AB de Villiers (133*)
20167AB de Villiers (129*)
20175David Warner (126)
20185Rishabh Pant (128*)
20196Jonny Bairstow (114)
20205KL Rahul (132*)
20214Jos Buttler (124)
20228Quinton de Kock (140*)
202312Shubman Gill (129)
Table: IPL Centuries Distribution by Seasons

Read Now: Most Centuries in IPL

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *