IPL Orange Cap Winners List (From 2008 to 2023)

The Orange Cap in IPL is given to the player who scores the most runs in the season. Every year we see various batsmen competing with one another to win the prestigious award.

So who are those batters who managed to lead the run-scoring table, year by year?

This article will look at the Orange cap winners (the top run scorer of every season) in IPL, year-wise.

IPL 2008: Shaun Marsh – 616 runs

IPL 2008 Orange Cap WInner

Shaun Marsh scored the maximum number of runs in the league’s inaugural edition. He was awarded the Orange Cap in 2008. He scored a whopping 616 runs averaging an enormous 68.44, with an impressive strike rate of almost 140 for the Punjab Kings. Shaun Marsh was Punjab’s “Mr. Consistent” and was one of their key players that year.

IPL 2009: Matthew Hayden – 572 runs

IPL 2009 Orange Cap winner

Australian legend Matthew Hayden scored the most number of runs in the second edition of the league and won the Orange Cap that year. He scored a whopping 572 runs in 12 matches and had a strike rate of 144.81. He was one of the best players CSK had back then. CSK fans remember Hayden to this date and still consider him a CSK legend.

Read Now: Which team has scored the maximum individual centuries in IPL?

IPL 2010: Sachin Tendulkar – 618 runs

IPL 2010 Orange Cap Winner

Arguably the greatest batsman of all time, Sachin Tendulkar won the esteemed batter’s award in 2010. He was super consistent for the MI as they reached the finals under him. Tendulkar went on to score 618 runs for his team. He had a batting average and strike rate of 47.53 and 132.61, respectively, in IPL 2010.

IPL 2011: Chris Gayle – 608 runs

IPL Orange Cap winner 2011

This is when the “Gayle Storm” truly began in the IPL. After coming in as a replacement, the Universe Boss made this season his own and hit sixes for fun. The Universe Boss scored 608 runs in the 4th edition of the Indian Premier League for the RCB side. His strike rate of 183 sets him apart from all Orange Cap holders.

IPL 2012: Chris Gayle – 773 runs

IPL 2012 Orange cap winner

The Universe Boss wasn’t done yet. After dominating bowlers in 2011, he decided to troll bowlers in 2012. The “Gayle Storm” ensured that no bowler was spared. He scored 773 runs at a mountainous average of 67. He also had a strike rate of 160.74. However, that still wasn’t enough to help RCB reach the playoffs. After this, he scored the highest-ever score in IPL the next year.

IPL 2013: Michael Hussey – 733 runs

IPL 2013 orange cap winner

Mr Cricket won the Orange Cap in 2013. He was one of the main reasons CSK reached the finals that season. The Aussie batsman accumulated 733 runs at an average of over 50, but Mumbai Indians won the title that season. It would be safe to say that Hussey was one of the greatest players to have played for CSK.

IPL 2014: Robin Uthappa – 660 runs

IPL 2014 Orange cap winner

Uthappa was an absolute beast in 2014. KKR went on to win the title that year, and Uthappa was one of the major reasons behind their successful campaign. After being sent to open the innings, Robbie never looked back and won the Orange Cap that year. He scored 660 runs at an average and strike rate of 44 and 137, respectively.

IPL 2015: David Warner – 562 runs

IPL 2019 Orange Cap Winner

David Warner is one of the greatest players in the league’s history. His love affair with the Orange Cap started in 2015, as he scored the most runs that year. Warner scored 562 runs in 2015. His average and strike rate with the bat are 43 and 156, respectively. Despite this, SRH still couldn’t qualify for the playoffs.

IPL 2016: Virat Kohli – 973 runs

IPL 2016 Orange Cap Winner

This has to be the greatest performance in IPL history. No batsman has come close to performing like how Kohli performed in 2016. The year made us debate whether Virat is the best-ever T20 batsman in the world. The Indian captain’s run tally in 2016 remains the highest in a single edition of the marquee T20 league. RCB made it to the final of IPL 2016 but lost to SRH. Kohli scored 973 runs at an average and strike rate of 81 and 152, respectively. It would be safe to say that he scored runs for fun that season. He was the top six-hitter of that year too.

Read now: Batsmen with Most Sixes in a Single IPL Season

IPL 2017: David Warner – 641 runs

IPL 2017 Orange Cap WInner

As mentioned earlier, Warner and the Orange Cap have their own love affair. The Australian’s tag of the highest run-scoring overseas batsman in the tournament tells you all. Warner was sensational in the tenth edition of the league and scored 641 runs in the 2017 edition of the marquee T20 league. Sunrisers Hyderabad had claimed the title in IPL 2016 but lost the playoff battle against KKR in 2017.

IPL 2018: Kane Williamson – 735 runs

IPL 2018 Orange Cap WInner

The genius from New Zealand topped the charts in 2018. The accidental captain for SRH turned out to be a boon for them as Williamson went on to win the Orange Cap that year. He scored 735 runs at an average and strike rate of 52 and 144, respectively. SRH reached the finals under his captaincy in that season as well.

IPL 2019: David Warner – 692 runs

IPL 2019 Orange Cap Winner

After missing the previous season, Warner was well and truly back in IPL 2019, as he scored the most number of runs in that season. David Warner became the first player to win the Orange Cap 3 times in IPL history in IPL 2019. He scored 692 runs at an average and strike rate of 69 and 144, respectively. And, the following year, Warner became the fastest to 5000 runs in IPL.

IPL 2020: KL Rahul – 670 runs

IPL 2020 orange cap winner

KL Rahul has been one of the best players in the IPL for the last few seasons. After two good seasons in 2018 and 2019, he went on to win the Orange Cap in 2020. It was safe to say that he carried Punjab throughout the tournament. KL Rahul scored 670 runs, amassed at an average of 55 while striking at 129.3, also includes 5 fifty-plus scores and a hundred.

IPL 2021: Ruturaj Gaikwad – 635 Runs

Orange Cap winner IPL 2021

Ruturaj Gaikwad scored 635 runs in IPL 2021 to become the highest runs scorer in the season when his team Chennai Super Kings, won its fourth IPL title. While doing so, he also became the youngest cricketer to win the Orange Cap in the tournament’s history at 24. He scored a massive total of 635 runs at an average of 45.35, including seven fifties and one century.

IPL 2022: Jos Buttler – 863 runs

jos buttler ipl 2022 orange cap winner

2022 is the year of Jos Buttler, who made 863 runs at an average of 57.53 in 17 innings and played a big part in the Rajasthan Royals’ runner-up year. The team’s route to the final through 2nd qualifier gained the English batsman-wicketkeeper an extra game to get to this total. The flawless season from Buttler included 4 centuries, thereby equalling Virat Kohli’s record of four centuries in the 2016 season. Buttler also topped the chart of most 6s and 4s in that season.

IPL 2023: Shubman Gill – 890 Runs

The Orange Cap winner of the 2023 season has lit up the IPL with three centuries and some excellent non-challengeable batting. His ability to produce under pressure and the ease with which he has consistently hit sixes proved that a new era of Indian batting is building up, with Gill playing the prime role. He scored 890 runs with a strike rate of 157+ and an average of 59+.

Closing Points

Only 4 players in the list of top 10 run scorers in IPL have been able to pick the Orange Cap in their IPL career. In that Chris Gayle has won it twice and David Warner, thrice.

Read: IPL Purple Cap Winners List (Year by Year)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *