Over the years, the Indian Premier League (IPL) has seen a flurry of records being set and broken season after season. One among them is the number of centuries scored in an IPL edition.

With the shortest format tilted towards batters, we are seeing a surge in batters reaching the three-digit figures more often. The batters have gone one step ahead in 2024, as the season logged the most number of centuries.

In this article, we’ll list the top 10 IPL seasons with the most number of centuries.

IPL Season with Most Centuries

IPL SeasonNo. of Centuries

Key Insights

The 2024 IPL season has recorded the most number of centuries, going past the previous record of 12 hundreds scored in 2023.

100: Shubman Gill’s IPL ton against CSK on May 10, 2024, was the 100th instance of a batter reaching a hundred in the league. The IPL became only the second T20 tournament after England’s T20 Blast to record 100+ centuries.

4 centuries scored by Virat Kohli and Jos Buttler are the most in a single IPL season among individual batters. Both batters notched up 4 hundreds, with Kohli doing it first in 2016 and Buttler levelling the record in 2022.

6: The inaugural IPL season in 2008 recorded the first instance of 5 or more centuries being scored.

Inarticle 80

2 centuries recorded in the 2009 IPL season played in South Africa. This is the least number of hundreds scored in a single season.

During the same season, Manish Pandey brought up the slowest hundred in the league, taking 67 balls to reach the 100-run mark against Deccan Chargers. Later, in 2024, Virat Kohli equalled the record by taking the same number of balls for his century against Rajasthan Royals.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *