Indian Premier League started in 2008, right after India won the inaugural T20 World Cup in 2007 under MS Dhoni.

Shane Warne, the legendary Australian spinner, led the Rajasthan Royals side to claim a podium finish in the first IPL edition, whereas MS Dhoni’s Chennai Super Kings settled as the runners-up. Since then, we have seen Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings winning the championships 5 times each.

Gujarat Titans, in 2022, shocked the cricketing world by claiming the title in the first year of their team’s appearance in the tournament, and then followed it with a runner-up finish in 2023.

This article will list the winners and runners-up of all seasons of the Indian Premier League.

IPL Winners and Runners Every Season

2008Rajasthan RoyalsChennai Super Kings8
2009Deccan ChargersRoyal Challengers Bangalore8
2010Chennai Super KingsMumbai Indians8
2011Chennai Super KingsRoyal Challengers Bangalore10
2012Kolkata Knight RidersChennai Super Kings9
2013Mumbai IndiansChennai Super Kings9
2014Kolkata Knight RidersPunjab Kings8
2015Mumbai IndiansChennai Super Kings8
2016Sunrisers HyderabadRoyal Challengers Bangalore8
2017Mumbai IndiansRising Pune Supergiant8
2018Chennai Super KingsSunrisers Hyderabad8
2019Mumbai IndiansChennai Super Kings8
2020Mumbai IndiansDelhi Capitals8
2021Chennai Super KingsKolkata Knight Riders8
2022Gujarat TitansRajasthan Royals10
2023Chennai Super KingsGujarat Titans10

Stats Insights

Mumbai Indians have also won the most number of matches in the tournament.

Super Kings are the one team to feature in most IPL finals. They have qualified for the grand finale 10 times in the 14 editions they are part of.

MS Dhoni, the CSK captain, tops the IPL captaincy records chart for a very long time in the tournament.

Inarticle 80

Punjab Kings, Delhi Capitals, and Royal Challengers Bangalore are the three teams not to win a single IPL title among the sides that are part of the inaugural IPL season.

Relevant Read: The top five instances of teams winning most matches in the league stage of a single IPL season

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *