Top 10: Largest Win Margin in T20Is (by Runs)

You must have seen teams easily chasing huge totals in the T20 International (T20I) format. However, on a few occasions, teams might struggle on their way to thrash the target.

Chasing a huge score can pressurise the batters, resulting in a poor start or loss of wickets. And if this happens, then the bowling team can bundle them out for paltry scores and register big wins.

So, here are the top 10 instances of teams registering the largest win margin by runs in T20Is.

Largest Win Margin in T20Is (by Runs)

Nepal273 runs315MongoliaHangzhou27 Sep 2023
Czech Republic257 runs279TurkeyIlfov County30 Aug 2019
Canada208 runs246PanamaCoolidge14 Nov 2021
Malaysia194 runs269ThailandHangzhou2 Oct 2023
Tanzania184 runs219CameroonKigali9 Dec 2022
Malaysia184 runs220MyanmarKuala Lumpur30 Jul 2023
Japan180 runs259ChinaMong Kok15 Feb 2024
Tanzania178 runs241CameroonRwanda6 Nov 2021
Romania173 runs227TurkeyIlfov County29 Aug 2019
Sri Lanka172 runs261KenyaJohannesburg14 Sep 2007

Key Insights

273: During the 2023 Asian Games, Nepal registered the largest win margin by runs in T20Is. Nepal defeated Mongolia by an astounding margin of 273 runs, as they bowled Mongolia out for 41 runs.

314: The match between Nepal and Mongolia was a record-breaking affair in a true sense. In this match, Nepal posted the highest team total in T20Is, scoring 314 batting first. While setting this mammoth total, Dipendra Singh Airee smashed the fastest T20I fifty (9 balls), while Kushal Malla slammed the fastest T20I century (34 balls).

1: Sri Lanka became the first team to beat a team by more than 100 runs margin in T20Is. Sri Lanka achieved this feat in the inaugural 2007 T20 World Cup, as they defeated Kenya by 172 runs. This is also the biggest win margin in the T20 World Cup.

Inarticle 80

3: Cameroon is the only team that has conceded 3 defeats by a margin of more than 170 runs.

20: There are more than 20 instances of teams winning matches by a margin of 150 or more runs. Most of those instances belong to associate nations, while only 3 full members — Sri Lanka, India, and Pakistan — feature among them. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *