Even though we have Sachin Tendulkar and Steve Smith ruling the Border Gavaskar Trophy’s century numbers, it is Ricky Ponting who leads the list of most 200s in BGT tournaments. The former Australian captain has three double-century knocks, all coming in his home venues.

However, Sachin has two to his name, with three other right-handed middle-order batters from both sides joining him.

This article will list all batters who have scored more than one double-century in Border Gavaskar Trophy tournaments.

Most 200s in BGT Series

Ricky Ponting (AUS)351257 (Melbourne), 242 (Adelaide), 221 (Adelaide)
Michael Clarke (AUS)240329* (Sydney), 210 (Adelaide)
VVS Laxman (IND)254281 (Kolkata), 200* (Delhi)
Cheteshwar Pujara (IND)237204 (Hyderabad), 202 (Ranchi)
Sachin Tendulkar (IND)265241* (Sydney), 214 (Bengaluru)

Key Stats

Rahul Dravid’s 233 in Adelaide is the first double-ton scored in an away BGT game. Sachin added one to that with his unbeaten 241 in Sydney in the last match of the same series. Sachin’s double ton also helped India post a first-innings score of 705/7d, which is the highest-ever score in any India vs Australia clash. It is also one of India’s top five Test scores.

Michael Clarke is the only triple centurion in the history of the Border-Gavaskar Series.

Find: The list of major contributors from India and Australia to their respective side’s double century score lists.

MS Dhoni’s 224 in a Chennai Test in 2013 is the highest score ever by a wicket-keeper in any BGT match. One of Dhoni’s 47 records we listed.

Inarticle 80

Adelaide has been the venue of 4 BGT double tons – the highest among the venues. Sydney has sported 3 BGT 200s; Delhi and Chennai have two each.

Read Now: Most Runs Overall in BGT

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *