Batsmen representing eleven of the fifteen franchises have scored centuries; the only franchises that have not had a player score a century for them are Pune Warriors India, Gujarat Lions, and Kochi Tuskers Kerala. Rising Pune Supergiant is the only franchise not in the original ten franchises to have a hundred by its player.

Here is the detailed breakdown of total IPL centuries scored and conceded by every franchise:

Royal Challengers
Kings XI
Punjab/Punjab Kings
Rajasthan Royals147
Delhi Capitals105
Super Kings
Mumbai Indians612
Rising Pune Supergiants22
Deccan Chargers24
Lucknow Super Giants31
Kolkata Knight Riders211
Kochi Tuskers
Pune Warriors
Gujarat Lions06
Gujarat Titans32
Table: Number of centuries scored and conceded by each team

Stats Insights

The ‘Brendon McCullum blitzkrieg’ in the very first match in the IPL was the only century that a batsman playing for Kolkata Knight Riders scored, until Venkatesh Iyer scored one 15 years later. The former New Zealand opener scored another IPL century later in 2015 while playing for CSK . He is among the 11 players who scored centuries playing for 2 different teams.

Moreover, Kolkata Knight Riders and Mumbai Indians have conceded the highest number of centuries – 11, followed by RCB (10) & SRH (10).

Lucknow Super Giants, in 2022, became the eleventh team to open their century count in the tournament. Their captain KL Rahul has notched up two centuries in the first half of the season.

Shubman Gill became the first player to hit an IPL ton for Gujarat Titans, and this is also the first century for the side that made its first appearance in the 2022 edition. Gill continued with yet another century for the Gujarat side in the same 2023 season.

Read Now: Top 5 Innings of KL Rahul in IPL

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *