Top 10: Most Centuries for England in Test Cricket

Century-scorers are vital contributors in any form of cricket; especially Test centuries are always treated as a high achievement by the sport’s lovers.

For England, the founding nation of cricket, a Test win is rated high, and a Test century always pave the way to it. And thereby, the batters who can play a long innings in the game are always celebrated.

With his 33 centuries in the longer format, Alastair Cook is the highest century-scorer for England in Test cricket. Check Alastair Cook’s Test stats in detail here.

This article will list the top ten batsmen who have scored the most centuries for England in Test cricket.

Most Centuries for England in Test Cricket

Alastair Cook3329129457
Joe Root3125725461
Kevin Pietersen2318122735
Wally Hammond22140336*24
Colin Cowdrey2218818238
Geoff Boycott22193246*42
Ian Bell2220523546
Andrew Strauss2117817727
Ken Barrington2013125635
Graham Gooch2021533346

Key Stats

Three modern-day batters, Alastair Cook, Joe Root, and Kevin Pietersen lead the list, with only the first two reaching the milestone number of 30 centuries in Test.

However, Cook and Root have taken ample time to complete the milestone as they were not part of the fastest ten batters to reach 30 Test hundreds.

Speaking about fastest milestones, Wally Hammond is the fastest English cricketer to reach 20 Test centuries, and you can check here where he ranks in the overall list.

The Cook-Root duo also tops the lists of most Test runs for England and most double centuries for England, and when it comes to triple centuries, five different cricketers (with the latest being Graham Gooch in 1990) from the country have contributed one each.

Former England cricketer Len Hutton’s 364 against Australia at The Oval in 1938, which led to England’s highest-ever Test team total, is the highest-ever individual score for England in Test cricket.

Also Read: England’s brand of fearless cricket in focus

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *