Nowadays, players scoring centuries in T20 games has become a normal scenario. However, a batter hammering hundreds in consecutive matches is another level of achievement.

A handful of batters have accomplished this feat in the high-octane Indian Premier League (IPL), showcasing their temperament and consistency.

On that note, let’s look at the list of batters with the most consecutive centuries in IPL history.

Most Consecutive Centuries in IPL

PlayerNo. of 100sRunsAgainstVenueDate
Shikhar Dhawan (DC)2101*CSKSharjah17 Oct 2020
106*Kings XI PunjabDubai (DICS)20 Oct 2020
Jos Buttler (RR)2103KKRBrabourne18 Apr 2022
116DCWankhede22 Apr 2022
Virat Kohli (RCB)2100SRHHyderabad18 May 2023
101*GTBengaluru21 May 2023
Shubman Gill (GT)2101SRHAhmedabad15 May 2023
104*RCBBengaluru21 May 2023

Key Insights

Shikhar Dhawan became the first-ever batter to slam consecutive centuries in IPL history. The left-hand batter scored 2 hundreds for the Delhi Capitals in back-to-back matches in 2020. Dhawan’s 2 centuries were part of his streak of 4 fifty-plus scores.

3: Dhawan was overall the third Indian to achieve this feat after Unmukt Chand (2013) and Ishan Kishan (2019), both of whom notched up successive tons in the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Tournament.

Inarticle 80

The 2023 IPL season saw 2 batters smash consecutive centuries — Virat Kohli and Shubman Gill. Both batters notched up their first hundreds against Hyderabad, while their second tons came in the same match between RCB and GT.

Shubman’s 101 against the Sunrisers Hyderabad was his maiden hundred in the T20 league. He followed that up with 2 more tons, making the second-most hundreds in a single IPL season (3).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *