Top 10 Streaks: Most Consecutive Wins in IPL by a Team

Cricket fans wait for the summer season to watch the Indian Premier League. IPL is the biggest T20 league in the world. Every cricketer aspires to create an impact in the Indian Premier League. IPL teams invest heavily in pre-auction strategies to form a perfect team combination consisting of good batting depth and various bowling options. They want to find the perfect team combination as early in the tournament.

Consistency for a team in the season of the Indian Premier League is very important. Once a team wins a match, it boosts the team’s confidence, and they carry it in further matches. IPL teams try to win consecutive matches to get good momentum. However, it’s not always possible to win matches in consecutive streaks. Only a very few teams have maintained their streak of winning matches for more than 4 matches. Find out, in this article, the three teams that managed to make it to the Playoffs in most of the seasons.

Kolkata Knight Riders hold the record of winning the most consecutive matches (10) in the history of the Indian Premier League. Here is the list of the top 10 streaks of consecutive wins in Indian Premier League history.

Top 10 : Most consecutive wins in IPL

Stats Insights

Kolkata Knight Riders find the position at first place on this list with a streak of 10 consecutive wins. KKR was almost on the verge of disqualification from the playoffs in Indian Premier League (IPL) 2014. But Kolkata Knight Riders, led by Gautam Gambhir, went on to win 9 consecutive matches in that season and won the IPL 2014 title. They continued this streak by winning the first match of IPL 2015.

Kings XI Punjab won the last three IPL 2013 games and the first five of IPL 2014, played in the UAE. Winning the first five matches helped Punjab reach the final of IPL 2014.

Royal Challengers Bangalore in IPL 2011 and Chennai Super Kings in IPL 2013 won 7 consecutive matches each before getting a taste of loss in the IPL Final of these both respective IPL seasons. RCB lost the IPL 2011 final to CSK, while CSK lost the IPL 2013 final to Mumbai Indians.

Rajasthan Royals have the record of losing the least number of games in an IPL season. RR lost just 3 games in IPL 2008, where they claimed their first IPL title.

KKR, MI, & CSK are the only three teams to win IPL finals in this list of top 10 streaks of consecutive wins.

Read Now: Top Ten Powerplay Scores in IPL

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *