Nowadays, in T20 cricket, batters look to get off the mark quickly without wasting a lot of balls. With this comes the risk of losing their wicket on paltry scores. Sometimes even without scoring a single run.

It’s a nightmare for a batter to return to the pavilion for a duck. The Indian Premier League (IPL) has seen notable batters bag several ducks, entering their names in unwanted record books.

In this article, we’ll look at the top 10 batters with the most ducks in IPL history.

Most Ducks in IPL History

PlayerDucks ScoredInnings Batted
Dinesh Karthik18232
Glenn Maxwell17127
Rohit Sharma17251
Piyush Chawla1692
Sunil Narine16108
Mandeep Singh1598
Rashid Khan1560
Manish Pandey14159
Ambati Rayudu14187
Harbhajan Singh1390

Key Insights

Dinesh Karthik has bagged the most ducks in IPL history, with 18 to his name.

Rohit Sharma (Mumbai Indians) and Sunil Narine (Kolkata Knight Riders) are the only 2 batters who have scored 15 or more ducks while playing for a single IPL team. 

Over 20 batters have registered 10 or more ducks in the IPL.

Inarticle 80

5 ducks registered by Jos Buttler in the 2023 season are the most in an IPL edition.

Rashid Khan has been dismissed the most times on first-ball ducks in the league, with 12 golden ducks to his name.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *