Top 10: Players with Most Ducks in T20I Cricket

The fast-paced nature of the T20I format prompts batters to score runs by taking an attacking approach. Since batters try to muscle every ball from the start, they risk losing their wickets without putting any run on the board.

No batter wants to get out without contributing a single run, but the gung-ho approach might result in batters getting dismissed on a duck. Over the years, many batters have experienced the unsavoury feeling of registering a duck, though a few have gone through that several times.

In this article, let’s look at the top 10 players who have logged the most ducks in T20I cricket.

Most Ducks in T20I Cricket

Paul Stirling (IRE)13313
Kevin Irakoze (RWN)5512
Kevin O’Brien (IRE)10312
Rohit Sharma (IND)14312
Daniel Anefie (GHA)2811
Zappy Bimenyimana (RWN)4711
Regis Chakabva (ZIM)4911
Orchide Tuyisenge (RWN)7011
Soumya Sarkar (BAN)7411
Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL)7910

Key Insights

10: Over 12 batters have been dismissed on ducks in 10 or more T20I matches, with Ireland’s Paul Stirling leading the pack.

4: Pakistan’s Abdullah Shafique and Hong Kong’s Anas Khan have registered the most consecutive ducks in T20Is. Both batters returned to the pavilion by scoring zero runs in 4 consecutive innings, with 31 batters registering 3 consecutive ducks.

20: Rwanda’s Kevin Irakoze leads the chart in getting out the most times on first ball ducks or golden ducks. And there are over 20 batters who have 5 or more golden ducks to their names.

0: Marlon Samuels played the most innings without getting out on a zero. The West Indies batter featured in 65 innings for his side and never got out on a duck.

90: But when it comes to playing in the most consecutive innings without a duck, David Miller stands tall. Miller didn’t register a single duck for 90 consecutive innings from 20 May 2010 to 5 August 2022.

84: Miller is followed by India’s former skipper, MS Dhoni, with 84 innings. What’s interesting is Dhoni scored his only duck on his T20I debut on 1 December 2006, which was also India’s first-ever T20I match. After that debacle, Dhoni never got out on zero in his next 84 T20I innings.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *