Top 5: Players with Most Fifty-Plus Scores in a Single IPL Season

The Indian Premier League is blessed with several batting legends like Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni, Chris Gayle, David Warner, AB De Villiers, etc. Over the years, we have seen several masterclass innings from these players. They have enhanced the entertainment factor in the IPL quite remarkably.

Scoring a half-century in T20 cricket is considered a good milestone for the batsman. To make a half-century, you need to be perfect with whatever shot you want to play. David Warner has the prestigious record of smashing most fifties in the history of IPL. He has been the most consistent batsman throughout the years; he has 6 500+ runs seasons so far.

It’s a tremendous task to score back-to-back fifties and play with amazing consistency in a long tournament like IPL.

This article will look at the top 5 players who have scored the most fifty-plus scores in a single IPL season.

#5 Kane Williamson – 8 (IPL 2018)

Kane Williamson was at the peak of his powers in the 2018 season of IPL. In the absence of David Warner, Williamson led the SRH team to the finals of IPL 2018. Kane played several great composed innings in this IPL season. He scored 735 runs at an average of 52 and an impactful strike rate of 143. Kane scored 8 fifty-plus scores in IPL 2018 with great consistency. Williamson also won the orange cap this season. However, SRH lost to CSK in the final.

#4 Chris Gayle – 8 (IPL 2012)

Universe Boss Chris Gayle is the next name on this list. Gayle was the pioneer of batting in IPL. He set the standards very high for batsmen in the IPL. The Universe boss mesmerised fans during the IPL 2012 season with his amazing brute force hitting. Chris Gayle scored 733 runs at a mind-blowing strike rate of 161 in IPL 2012. He also scored 8 fifty-plus scores in 14 innings in the 2012 season of IPL.

#3 David Warner – 9 (IPL 2016)

Former Sunrisers Hyderabad captain David Warner has the prestigious record of winning the most orange caps in the history of IPL. He is the most consistent batsman in the history of IPL, with a record for the most fifty-plus scores on his name in IPL. He smashed 9 half-centuries in the title-winning campaign of Sunrisers Hyderabad in IPL 2016. He emerged as the second leading runs scorer in IPL 2016.

#2 David Warner – 9 (IPL 2019)

Australian opener David Warner once again finds a place on this list. This time he scored 9 fifty-plus scores in the 2019 season of the Indian Premier League. This IPL season was the comeback season of David Warner in the IPL after a one year ban. He announced his comeback in style by scoring 692 runs in 12 matches at a great Strike rate of 144. David also won the orange cap in IPL 2019 season.

#1 Virat Kohli – 11 (IPL 2016)

The famous IPL 2016 season is fondly remembered for the season of Virat Kohli. Virat was at the peak of his powers in the year 2016. He set the standards very high for other batsmen in IPL 2016. Kohli scored 11 fifty-plus scores in IPL 2016, including four centuries. Former RCB captain scored 973 runs in IPL 2016, the record for most runs scored in a single IPL season. However, this season ended in disappointment for Virat as RCB fell short by a few runs in the final against SRH.

Moreover, you should read this blog to understand Virat’s supremacy in the tournament history!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *