Top 10: Most ‘Man of the Match’ Awards in T20 Internationals

The shortest format of the game, T20I, provides the best entertainment for the vast audience, and since it is a fast-moving game, there is no time to blink. This is also true for the teams playing, as a player can snatch a game from the opposition in the blink of an eye and win the game for his side. So this is a format where superstars are made, and they can be termed as the match-winners.

As the game gets shorter, the value of a match-winner or a game-changer is more than that of a collective team effort. More often, these changing moments, be it scoring quick runs when the team needs it the most, scalping a couple of wickets, or proving his/her all-round abilities, are all pivotal in a player winning the “Man of the Match.”

So here we will see the top 10 players with the most “Man of the Match” awards in T20I cricket.

Most ‘Man of the Match’ Awards in T20Is

PlayerMatches PlayedMOM Awards
Virat Kohli (IND)11715
Mohammad Nabi (AFG)11514
Sikandar Raza (ZIM)8114
Suryakumar Yadav (IND)6014
Rohit Sharma (IND)15113
David Warner (AUS)10212
Mohammad Hafeez (PAK)11911
Mohammad Rizwan (PAK)9011
Shadab Khan (PAK)9211
Shahid Afridi (PAK)9911

Key insights from the above stats

15: The number of players overall who have 10 or more Man of the Match in T20I cricket.

7: Virat Kohli has won the most player of the match awards in the shortest format, with 15 in 115 T20I games. He also won the Player of the Series award a record 7 times, including twice in T20 World Cups (2014 and 2016). Kohli is the leading run-getter in the format with over 4000 runs, while Shakib is the 2nd highest wicket-taker with 140 scalps.

4: The number of Pakistani players featured in this list – namely Shahid Afridi, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Hafeez, and Shadab Khan. Interestingly, all have won the Man of the Match over 11 times in T20I cricket.

148: Rohit Sharma is the most capped T20I player in the history of the game, and he has won the “MoM” award 12 times in his career.

4.46: Average number of games India’s swashbuckling T20I batter Suryakumar Yadav plays to bag the Player of the Match award. Zimbabwe’s Sikandar Raza takes 5.57 games to achieve this milestone. These are just mind-blowing numbers, and it shows the duo’s consistency in this format.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *