Top 5: IPL Teams with Most Losses in a Single Season

Indian Premier League is the toughest and most interesting T20 cricket league globally; the league has created a name and fame for several youngsters. The tournament franchises invest heavily in quality players in auctions to gather a well-balanced team combination. However, the teams have failed to do so several times, and as a result, they lost plenty of matches in that particular IPL season, sometimes formed bad streaks.

Teams have witnessed several terrible IPL seasons where nothing has gone right in terms of executing plans on the field. Even the 5 times IPL champions Mumbai India underwent a poor IPL season in 2022 after the mega auction. It’s always a tough time in team camp when you lose matches in a bunch. In such tough situations, coaches and captains have a great role in keeping up players’ morale.

However, Mumbai Indians aren’t the only team with such a difficult IPL campaign. Several teams in the past have faced even more terrible situations in terms of on-field performance.

Here in this article, we will look at the top 5 teams that have lost the most games in a single IPL season :

#1 Delhi Daredevils – 13 (IPL 2013)

Delhi Daredevils was one of the most inconsistent teams in the Indian Premier League till 2019. Delhi has an unwanted record of losing most matches in a single IPL season; they lost 13 matches in IPL 2013. The Mahela Jayawardene-led Delhi franchise has several big names in Virender Sehwag, David Warner, Ashish Nehra, and Ajit Agarkar. However, they never got any momentum in this tournament, and as a result, they registered the record of the worst season by a team in IPL history.

#2 Deccan Chargers – 12 (IPL 2008)

Deccan Chargers had a horrible IPL season in 2008, the first-ever season of IPL. Deccan Chargers lost 12 games in IPL 2008. The big names, including VVS Laxman, Adam Gilchrist, Herschelle Gibbs, and Shahid Afridi, couldn’t help the team’s performance in the season. Rohit Sharma was the best performer for Deccan Chargers in 2008.

In article image middle

Initially, VVS Laxman was given the captaincy of this franchise in 2008. But later on, Adam Gilchrist was handed over the captaincy in the mid-season. Deccan Chargers made an amazing comeback in the next season and went on to win the title in IPL 2009.

#3 Pune Warriors India – 12 (IPL 2012 & IPL 2013)

Pune Warriors India registered 12 losses in the back-to-back two IPL seasons in 2012 and 2013. Several big legends like Yuvraj Singh, Steven Smith, Sourav Ganguly, and Angelo Mathews were part of this Pune franchise. The Pune franchise has the lowest win percentage in the history of IPL. They never got their team combination right. Later Pune Warriors India franchise exited the tournament due to financial issues.

#4 Delhi Daredevils – 12 (IPL 2014)

Delhi Daredevils continued their poor form in IPL 2014 too. Delhi lost 12 matches in IPL 2014. They released several key players like Sehwag, Warner, and Nehra just before the IPL 2014 auction and still couldn’t gather a perfect team combination. The DD team looked heavy on batting with big names like Quinton De Kock, JP Duminy, Kevin Pietersen, and Dinesh Karthik.

In article ad end

England superstar batsman Kevin Pietersen led the Delhi franchise in 2014. Since the IPL 2019 season, Delhi has given consistent performances by reaching playoffs in three consecutive seasons in 2019, 2020, & 2021. However, they are yet to win an IPL title. Here are 5 cricketers who left the Delhi franchise and went onto win championship for other sides.

#5 Deccan Chargers – 11 (IPL 2012)

Deccan Chargers once again finds a place on this list. The franchise had a season to forget in IPL 2012. The chargers lost 11 matches in the IPL 2012 season. This IPL season was the last season for Deccan Chargers in the IPL. Legendary WK batsman Kumar Sangakkara led the Deccan chargers in IPL 2012. Dale Steyn, JP Duminy, and Amit Mishra were the other big names present in the squad of Deccan Chargers for this season.

On the contrary, here you can read about the teams that have won the most number of matches in a single IPL season!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *