Top 10: Most ODI Runs at a Single Venue

In the gentleman’s game, cricket stadiums or venues play a significant role in a player’s career. As the batters start playing, they generate a fondness for a particular venue where they accumulate a lot of runs.

One fine example of this is Bangladesh’s Tamim Iqbal, who has amassed over 2800 runs at the Shere Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur. So, in this article, we’ll take a look at the top 10 batters with the most ODI runs at a single venue.

Most ODI Runs at a Single Venue

Tamim Iqbal (BAN)85289734.90Shere Bangla National Stadium
Mushfiqur Rahim (BAN)91268434.85Shere Bangla National Stadium
Shakib Al Hasan (BAN)85265637.40Shere Bangla National Stadium
Sanath Jayasuriya (SL)70251438.67R. Premadasa Stadium
Inzamam-ul-Haq (PAK)59246450.28Sharjah Cricket Stadium
Saeed Anwar (PAK)51217945.39Sharjah Cricket Stadium
Brendan Taylor (ZIM)59216542.45Harare Sports Club
Kumar Sangakkara (SL)58215642.27R. Premadasa Stadium
RT Ponting (AUS/ICC)41210856.97Melbourne Cricket Ground
Mahmudullah (BAN)74199735.66Shere Bangla National Stadium

Key Insights

2600: 3 Bangladeshi batters occupy the top 3 positions with over 2600 ODI runs at the Shere Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur, Dhaka. Tamil Iqbal has scored the most ODI runs at a single venue, with his tally close to 2900 runs.

56.97: Australia’s former captain, Ricky Ponting, has the highest average of 56.97 among the batters with 1000+ runs at a single venue.

7: Ponting holds another record, along with Pakistan’s Saeed Anwar and Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar, of scoring the most ODI centuries at one ground. Ponting hammered 7 hundreds at the MCG, while Anwar and Tendulkar notched up 7 hundreds at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium.

21: The number of players who have scored over 800 ODI runs at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium, which is the most at any venue. Most of these players played at this venue during the late 1980s and early 2000s, with most hailing from Pakistan.

10: Other venues that feature 10 or more times are Australia’s Melbourne Cricket Ground, Sydney Cricket Ground, and Zimbabwe’s Harare Sports Club.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *