Calendar Year Records

Top 10: Most ODI Wins in a Calendar Year by Teams

Over the years, many teams have dominated in the One Day International (ODI) format. But what sets them apart is their consistency in winning match after match and outshining their opponents.

Australia, the 6-time world champions, are synonymous with consistency, having won the most ODI matches in a calendar year.

In this article, let’s take a look at the top 10 instances of teams with the most ODI wins in a calendar year.

Most ODI Wins in a Calendar Year by Teams

TeamMatches PlayedWinsWin %Year
South Africa302583.331996
South Africa412560.972000
West Indies292482.751985

Key Stats

30: Australia is the only team that has won 30 ODI matches in a particular year. And this is also the most number of ODI matches won in a calendar year. Australia achieved this feat in 2003, a year when they lifted their third World Cup.

3: In 2023, India became the third team to win 25 or more ODI matches in a single year. This stellar run also included India’s longest match-winning streak in ODIs (10 matches).

1: The West Indies became the first team to register 20+ wins in a calendar year in the ODI format. The Windies team, which was at its peak, won 24 matches in 1985.

20: There are only 3 teams — India, Pakistan, and Australia — that have registered 20+ wins in 5 or more calendar years.

43: The number of ODI matches played by India in 1999, the most by any team in a particular year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *