Delhi Capitals has been a different side altogether since the name change happened in 2018 from Delhi Daredevils. The three tigers in their new logo, symbolising the “hungry to win” attitude of Delhi, have really worked for them as the team has qualified for the Playoffs three times in the last four seasons. They almost made it to their fourth one, too, only to lose it by one game and end up in fifth place in the league’s points table.

The Capitals boast some excellent bowling talents at their disposal in the form of Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Kuldeep Yadav, and Mustafizur Rahman. They also comprise young crackerjack talents like Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Khaleel Ahmed, and Chetan Sakariya for the 2023 edition.

Having said that, this article will look into the batters who have done well against the Capitals bowlers throughout the tournament’s journey.

Following is the list of the top ten batters who have scored the most runs against Delhi Capitals in IPL.

Most Runs vs Delhi Capitals in IPL

Virat Kohli27103051.50133.769970/10
Rohit Sharma34102633.09132.9074*30/6
Ajinkya Rahane2185857.20131.59105*61/6
Robin Uthappa2774029.6124.787220/5
MS Dhoni3170933.76140.9563*100/3
Suresh Raina2666128.73134.627730/4
Ambati Rayudu2562934.94136.736270/4
Shikhar Dhawan2057930.47139.5192*10/3
AB de Villiers1557557.5161.0690*50/5
Dinesh Karthik2254225.80141.148610/5

Read: Find out the same list for other IPL teams here

Stats Insights

Among all the teams that have existed since the inaugural edition in 2008, the Delhi side conceded the lowest number of centuries. Only 4 centuries hit against them, with Chris Gayle’s 128 not-out in Delhi in 2012 being the highest. Both Mayank Agarwal and Virat Kohli have a score of 99 each against this Delhi team.

The Gaylestorm has stuck 38 sixes against the Delhi bowlers, the highest among every batsman who batted against them.

Ajinkya Rahane’s average of 60.92 is the highest by any batter versus the Delhi-based franchise in tournament history.

AB de Villiers, who tops the strike column of the list above, is the fourth highest overall after Andre Russell, Jos Buttler, and Adam Gilchrist.

Virat’s 8 50-plus score tops the milestones list.

Read: What are the records Virat Kohli hold in IPL?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *