Stats: Batters with Most Runs in a Season for Each IPL Team

Every IPL team has one or two premier batters in their ranks who are the backbone of their batting lineup. These batters are entrusted with accumulating as many runs as possible.

As a result, the IPL has seen batters top the run charts for their respective teams in a particular season. Virat Kohli is the most apt example, as he amassed a record-breaking 973 runs for RCB in 2016.

On that note, let’s look at the list of batters with the most runs in a season for each IPL team.

Most Runs in a Season for Each IPL Team

PlayerRuns in an IPL SeasonSeasonTeam
Virat Kohli9732016Royal Challengers Bengaluru
Shubman Gill8902023Gujarat Titans
Jos Buttler8632022Rajasthan Royals
David Warner8482016Sunrisers Hyderabad
Michael Hussey7332013Chennai Super Kings
Rishabh Pant6842018Delhi Capitals
KL Rahul6702020Punjab Kings
Robin Uthappa6602014Kolkata Knight Riders
Sachin Tendulkar6182010Mumbai Indians
KL Rahul6162022Lucknow Super Giants
Shikhar Dhawan5692012Deccan Chargers
Ajinkya Rahane4802016Rising Pune Supergiants
Aaron Finch4562013Pune Warriors
Suresh Raina4422017Gujarat Lions
Brendon McCullum3572011Kochi Tuskers Kerala

Key Insights

Virat Kohli holds the record for scoring the most runs in a single IPL season. He scored an astounding 973 runs in 16 innings at an impeccable average of 81.08 and a healthy strike rate of 152.03 for RCB in 2016.

The 2016 season saw 2 batters rack up 800+ runs each. Apart from Kohli, David Warner garnered 848 runs in 17 innings for SRH. 

The same season also witnessed Virat Kohli hammering 4 centuries — the most tons in a single IPL edition. Later, in IPL 2022, Jos Buttler levelled Kohli’s record by scoring 4 hundred for Rajasthan.

Sachin Tendulkar scored 618 runs for the Mumbai Indians in the 2010 season and bagged the Orange Cap award. With that, the master blaster became the first Indian batter to win the coveted Orange Cap.

Inarticle 80

KL Rahul and Faf du Plessis are the only 2 batters who have scored 600 or more runs in a season for 2 different teams. Rahul accumulated 670 runs for Punjab in 2020 and 616 for Lucknow in 2022, that too while leading both teams. Faf, on the other hand, scored 633 runs for Chennai in 2021 and 730 for Bengaluru in 2023.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *