Top 10: Most Runs in a Single Edition of T20 World Cup

8 editions of T20 World Cup have passed and we have 5 different winners so far with England and West Indies winning the tournament twice.

There have been lots of records created in the preceding events and we will look at the list of 10 batsmen with the most runs in a single world cup edition.

Virat Kohli (IND)31920146106.33129.15774/0
Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL)3172009752.83144.7596*3/0
Babar Azam (PAK)3032021660.60126.25704/0
Mahela Jayawardene (SL)3022010660.40159.791002/1
Virat Kohli (IND)2962022698.66136.4082*4/0
Tamim Iqbal (BAN)2952016673.75142.51103*1/1
Shane Warne (AUS)2892021748.16146.7089*3/0
Mohammad Rizwan (PAK)2812021670.25127.7279*3/0
Virat Kohli (IND)27320165136.50146.7789*3/0
Jos Buttler (ENG)2692021689.66151.12101*1/1
Matthew Hayden (AUS)2652007688.33144.8073*4/0
Most runs in a single edition of T20 World Cup

Key stats

India’s skipper Virat Kohli is the only one feature in this list thrice, in 2014 and 2016. He was the man of the tournament in both 2014 & 2016 editions, though India failed to win the event on both occasions in the knockout stages.

Tamim Iqbal, Jos Buttler, and Mahela Jayawardene are the only batters on the list to score a century in a T20 world cup. These are their only T20I century for their respective countries. You can find out the list of the highest individual scores in the tournament here.

Bangladesh’s ODI skipper Tamim was the leading run-scorer in the 2016 edition with 295 runs but has opted out of the 2021 tournament. You can find out the leading run scorer in every editions of T20 world cup here.

Known to be a classy player of the Test match mold, Jayawardene’s strike rate of 159.79 in 2010 in the West Indies is the highest on this list.

Inarticle 80

Kohli’s average of 136.50 is the most by any player in a single edition of the world cup scoring over 250 runs. Kohli in 2016 is a magic.

Dilshan, who famously invented the Dilscoop top-scored with 317 runs in 2009 in the event held in England and was named the player of the tournament. Unfortunately, Sri Lanka lost in the final to Pakistan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *