The Test series played between India and Australia are named as Border-Gavaskar Trophy, and you can find the reason behind the name here.

In addition to the list below, Sachin Tendulkar also tops the batting chart in all Test matches played between both these teams – 3630. He has batted 9 innings against the same opponent before it was called BGT. In fact, he is placed second in the overall list of players with most runs against Australia in the longest format; only 6 runs behind the list-topper, England’s Jack Hobbs (3636). Only Don Bradman is above these two when it comes to the top ten run-getters in Tests against any single Test-playing nation.

Let’s get into the list of leading run-scorers in Border Gavaskar Trophy since its inception in 1996.

Sachin Tendulkar32626556.24916241*
Ricky Ponting25555154.36812257
VVS Laxman24345449.67612281
Rahul Dravid21436039.68213233
Michael Clarke20494053.9276329*
Cheteshwar Pujara20334350.82511204
Virat Kohli19794248.2685186
Matthew Hayden18883559.0068203
Steve Smith18873565.0685192
Virender Sehwag17384341.3839195

Key Stats

Incidentally, this is also the same top ten for the high-scorers list of IND vs AUS Test matches played ever. Allan Border, with 1567 runs, and Sunil Gavaskar, with 1550 runs, were the top run-getters in the matches between the sides before it was called the BGT series. Sachin is the only player in the above list to play in the pre and post-BGT naming period.

Cheteshwar Pujara, Steve Smith, and Virat Kohli are the three players who are among the current players to be part of this list.

Smith averages 72.58 in 28 Test innings he played against his Asian opponent and is miles ahead of the others in the list. He competes with Sachin in the century-scorers list in the clashes between the sides.

Michael Clarke’s unbeaten 329 in Sydney in 2012 is the only 300+ score in a BGT match and is rightly the highest individual score. India suffered an innings defeat in that match.

Clarke also has another 200-score in the tournament, whereas Ricky Ponting betters him with three double centuries against India in Test cricket. The other players to have two BGT double centuries are Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman, and Cheteshwar Pujara.

Inarticle 80

MS Dhoni’s 224 in a Chennai Test is a wicket-keeper’s highest test score in any BGT series. Find out 47 MSD records that keep him still at the top of the game.

Sachin’s 25 maximums are also the highest number of sixes hit in the tournament history, followed closely by Matthew Hayden (24).

Read: IND vs AUS – Test Head to Head Stats

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *