Contributing to the team on a big stage will always be remembered for a long time.

ICC tournaments are the biggest platforms in the game of cricket, where the top teams contest against each other for championship podiums.

ODI World Cup is conducted once every four years, whereas the Men’s T20 World Cup is played every two years. The ICC Champions Trophy is where only the top 8 teams compete in each finals tournament. Here are the venues for every ICC tournament scheduled between 2022 & 2031.

This article will list the top run-scorers in all three ICC tournaments together.

Also Read: Most Wickets in ICC Tournaments

Most Runs in ICC Tournaments

Chris Gayle (WI)29421186965791
Kumar Sangakkara (SL)28761532661683
Mahela Jayawardene (SL)285811001016742
Sachin Tendulkar (IND)27192278-441
Virat Kohli (IND)270010301141529
Ricky Ponting (AUS)2422174386593
Rohit Sharma (IND)2422978963481
Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL)23721112897363
AB de Villiers (SA)23221207717398
Jacques Kallis (SA)22341148433653

Key Stats

The list is filled with legendary names, with only Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma being the active players. Shakib Al Hasan, the Bangladeshi captain, is also catching them closely at 11th place with more than 2100 runs.

3 Indian players: Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, & Rohit Sharma, along with Chris Gayle, have scored the most number of centuries in ICC tournaments. They all have hit 7 centuries in total.

Sachin’s 2278 runs in ODI World Cup is the only instance of a player scoring more than 2000 runs in any one ICC tournament. He is also the only batsman to score 500+ runs in two different ODI World Cup editions. He is also the only player on the list not to play a single T20 World Cup match.

Virat Kohli’s average of 61.64 is the highest among any batsman who scored more than 2000 runs in these three tournaments combined.

With 23 50+ scores, Virat, along with Sachin, top the 50+ innings chart in ICC tournaments. Rohit follows them with 22 such knocks.

Martin Guptill’s 237* is the highest score by a batsman in any ICC tournament.

Read Now: Every T20 World Cup Records You Should Know About

Buvanesh Thiraviam - writer in Cricindeed

A Cricket Blogger | Blogs at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *