The Indian Premier League stats provide us a glimpse of the talent on show and the fantastic things that players have done over the years to make IPL the biggest league globally and, along with it, entertain the audiences. Topping the most run scorers in a tournament like IPL will always be a prestigious achievement for any batter. Virat Kohli, the Indian Captain, currently holds the record for scoring the maximum runs in the tournament history.

Sachin Tendulkar, Ricky Ponting, Virender Sehwag, Kumar Sangakkara, and Matthew Hayden are the few among the most acclaimed players who were part of this big event previously. But it is the current stalwarts like Virat Kohli, David Warner, and Rohit Sharma, who peaked in their career at the right time through the birth and development of IPL in India. They have built up runs consistently year by year and are rightly at the chart’s top 3 position.

Here’s the list of few players who have managed to score more than the others and tops the list of “Most Runs Scorers in IPL History”.

Leading Run-Scorers in IPL History

Virat Kohli24379718/55113*38.69131.94
Shikhar Dhawan22167692/51106*35.25127.14
Rohit Sharma25266282/43109*29.72131.14
David Warner18465654/6212640.52139.77
Suresh Raina20055281/39100*32.51136.73
MS Dhoni22952430/2484*39.12137.53
AB de Villiers17051623/40133*39.70151.68
Chris Gayle14149656/31175*39.72148.96
Robin Uthappa19749520/278827.51130.35
Dinesh Karthik23348310/2297*26.39135.54

Key Insights

Virat Kohli’s 2016 season is the highest among the runs scored in a single IPL edition.

AB de Villiers has the best strike for a batsman with more than 4000 runs, whereas Gautam Gambhir has the lowest strike rate (more than 4000 runs).

David Warner has the best batting average for a batman with more than 2000 runs. Warner also tops the chart for having most 50+ plus scores in an IPL season.

MS Dhoni has the maximum no of not outs in the history of IPL. He is also the only batter to not have a single 500+ season in IPL. Check the players who has scored 500 runs in a season, most times.

Shikhar Dhawan with 1029 runs against CSK has the most number of runs against one IPL team.

Inarticle 80

Rishabh Pant is the youngest player in the IPL to reach 1000 runs.

CLIK TO KNOW: Most Successful Captains in IPL

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *