IPL 2024StatsIndeed

Most Runs in Powerplay Overs, Middle Overs, & Death Overs in IPL 2024

A T20 game is divided into 3 phases — powerplay overs (1-6), middle overs (7-16), and death overs (17-20). Each phase has its own intricacies.

In powerplay overs, the batters exploit the fielding restrictions and provide a solid start for the team. 

During the middle overs, they start to build the innings based on the strong foundation and continue the momentum going into the death overs. 

In the last four overs, batters get a free licence, smashing every delivery to the boundary to finish on a high note.

The IPL 2024 boasts batters who have expertise in batting in these phases. And they will create a significant impact for their teams by accumulating loads of runs. 

This article will list the top 10 batters with the most runs in powerplay overs, middle overs, and death overs in IPL 2024.

Before we delve deep, take a look at the leading run scorers in IPL 2024 here.

Now, let’s start with the powerplay overs.

Most Runs in Powerplay Overs (1-6) in IPL 2024

Travis Head (SRH)625833/15258.00234.54
Rohit Sharma (MI)818619/1362.00175.47
Virat Kohli (RCB)818423/761.33152.06
Ruturaj Gaikwad (CSK)817225/357.33143.33
Abhishek Sharma (SRH)717013/1685.00232.87
KL Rahul (LSG)816716/955.66149.10
Sunil Narine (KKR)716617/1283.00166.00
Phil Salt (KKR)715819/939.50177.52
Ishan Kishan (MI)815417/1030.80169.23
Faf du Plessis (RCB)814521/529.00147.95

Key Insights

RCB Skipper Faf du Plessis smashed 359 runs in the first 6 overs last season — the second most after Yashasvi Jaiswal’s 361. 

The former South African batter has started the IPL 2024 on a good note, along with other prominent powerplay batters David Warner and Shikhar Dhawan. Both left-hand batters are the top 2 leading run-scorers in the first 6 overs in the league.

Jaiswal will look to go bonkers in the powerplay phase in the 2024 season as well. And there will be a tussle between Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, and Jaiswal to claim the top spot.

Most Runs in Middle Overs in (7-16) IPL 2024

Riyan Parag (RR)723415/1478.00156.00
Shivam Dube (CSK)823116/16115.50167.39
Tilak Varma (MI)822419/1056.00160.00
Rishabh Pant (DC)819615/1039.20140.00
B Sai Sudharsan (GT)718419/236.80126.89
Sanju Samson (RR)517711/988.50155.26
Heinrich Klaasen (SRH)71614/1553.66173.11
Marcus Stoinis (LSG)61619/1032.20157.84
Virat Kohli (RCB)515310/751.00144.33
Nicholas Pooran (LSG)81517/1175.50162.36

Key Insights

Suryakumar Yadav (483) and Shubman Gill (454) were the 2 batters who dominated the middle overs last season like nobody else. Both crossed the 450-run mark between the 7 and 16 overs, with SKY topping the chart.

Suryakumar, Heinrich Klaasen, and Glenn Maxwell will be taking the bowlers for a ride in the middle overs in 2024.

Virat Kohli needs less than 200 runs to complete 4000 runs in the middle overs phase in the IPL. Similarly, Shikhar Dhawan and David Warner are aiming to cross the 300-run barrier.

Also Read | Virat Kohli IPL Runs – Year by Year

Most Runs in Death Overs (17-20) in IPL 2024

Dinesh Karthik (RCB)71518/1550.33235.93
Nicholas Pooran (LSG)61299/1164.50179.16
Rahul Tewatia (GT)612217/430.50187.69
Tim David (MI)61077/926.75209.80
Heinrich Klaasen (SRH)41076/1153.50254.76
Ashutosh Sharma (PBKS)4947/631.33200.00
MS Dhoni (CSK)6918/8260.00
Andre Russell (KKR)58910/529.66202.27
Abdul Samad (SRH)5848/628.00240.00
Tristan Stubbs (DC)3843/8280.00

Key Insights

Andre Russell and Heinrich Klaasen have started the IPL 2024 with fireworks in the last 4 overs.

Rinku Singh will be in the spotlight this season, going by how he wreaked havoc in 2023 by amassing 239 runs.

Dinesh Karthik, who has over 1380 runs in the death overs phase, will look to give stunning finishing touches before he bows out of the league after this season.

Read Next | Top 10: Most Runs in Death Overs in IPL

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *