The Indian cricket team, generation after generation, has been blessed with prodigal batting talents who have at times dominated world cricket with their bat. This includes batting talents like Sachin Tendulkar, Sunil Gavaskar, and Vijay Hazare, among many others.

But before storming the international scene, most of them nurtured their batting skills in the Ranji Trophy, India’s First-Class tournament.

A season of the Ranji Trophy is a long grind for all involved, and the batters should have a high skill set to maintain their form throughout the campaign. The national championship is usually considered a precursor to the India call-up historically, but a few do miss out on a well-deserved call-up.

And these players have become domestic legends, which we will discuss here. Let’s take a sneak peek at the top 10 leading run scorers in Ranji Trophy history.

Most Runs in Ranji Trophy

PlayerRunsTeams Represented
Wasim Jaffer12038Mumbai, Vidarbha
Amol Muzumdar9202Mumbai, Assam, Andhra Pradesh
Devendra Bundela9201Madhya Pradesh
Paras Dogra9143Himachal Pradesh, Pondicherry
Yashpal Singh8700Services, Tripura, Manipur, Sikkim
Manoj Tiwary8635Bengal
Mithun Manhas8554Delhi, Jammu & Kashmir
Faiz Fazal8430Vidarbha, Railways
Hrishikesh Kanitkar8059Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan
Naman Ojha7861Madhya Pradesh

(Check out other Ranji Trophy-related records here.)

Key Insights

Coupled with his record of scoring the most tons in Ranji Trophy (40), Wasim Jaffer is the leading run-getter in the tournament’s history, with 12038 runs in his kitty. He has the highest individual score of 314, which he made against Saurashtra while playing for Mumbai in the 1996 season.

23 players have scored 7000 or more runs in Ranji Trophy history, and among active players, Pujara’s tally of 7334 is the highest.

Also Read | The Five Best Test Innings of Cheteshwar Pujara

Inarticle 80

98.35 is the best average ever in the Ranji Trophy, and it is by the great Vijay Merchant, who scored 3639 runs while representing Bombay, followed by 85.62 amassed by Sachin Tendulkar (4281 runs).

1415 is the most runs scored in a single Ranji Trophy edition. The extraordinary feat was achieved by VVS Laxman in the 1999/2000 season while playing for Hyderabad, and he had a stunning average of 80.61, scoring 5764 runs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *