T20 World Cup 2024

T20 World Cup 2024: Complete Tournament Stats

The T20 World Cup 2024 finished on a high, with India lifting the trophy after a 17-year wait. The undefeated Men in Blue stopped the juggernaut of South Africa by beating them in the final by 7 runs.

The ninth edition of the T20 World Cup was historic in a true sense, with 20 teams in a direct race to claim the silverware. In this tussle, fans were delighted with some extraordinary individual performances, creating and rewriting some records.

Here we’ll look at the complete tournament stats from the T20 World Cup 2024 edition.

Most Runs in T20 World Cup 2024

PlayerInningsRunsStrike Rate100/50
Rahmanullah Gurbaz (AFG)8281124.330/3
Rohit Sharma (IND)8257156.700/3
Travis Head (AUS)7255158.380/2
Quinton de Kock (SA)9243140.460/2
Ibrahim Zadran (AFG)8231107.440/2
Nicholas Pooran (WI)7228146.150/1
Andries Gous (USA)6219151.030/2
Jos Buttler (ENG)7214158.510/1
Suryakumar Yadav (IND)8199135.370/2
Heinrich Klaasen (SA)8190126.660/1

Key Insights

281: Rahmanullah Gurbaz scored the most runs in the T20 World Cup 2024. The Afghani opener accumulated 281 runs in 8 innings at an average of 35.12 and a strike rate of 124.33.

3: Gurbaz and Rohit Sharma notched up the most fifty-plus scores in the ninth edition. Both openers scored 3 fifty-plus knocks each.

164.07: The strike rate of Marcus Stoinis in this edition. This is the highest strike rate among the batters with 150+ runs. The Australian all-rounder scored 169 runs in 5 innings.

Highest Individual Scores in T20 World Cup 2024

PlayerScore (Balls)AgainstVenueDate
Nicholas Pooran (WI)98 (53)AfghanistanGros Islet17 Jun 2024
Aaron Jones (U.S.A.)94* (40)CanadaDallas01 Jun 2024
Rohit Sharma (IND)92 (41)AustraliaGros Islet24 Jun 2024
Phil Salt (ENG)87* (47)West IndiesGros Islet19 Jun 2024
Jos Buttler (ENG)83* (38)U.S.A.Bridgetown23 Jun 2024
Shai Hope (WI)82* (39)U.S.A.Bridgetown21 Jun 2024
Andries Gous (U.S.A.)80* (47)South AfricaNorth Sound19 Jun 2024
Rahmanullah Gurbaz (AFG)80 (56)New ZealandProvidence07 Jun 2024
Rahmanullah Gurbaz (AFG)76 (45)UgandaProvidence03 Jun 2024
Travis Head (AUS)76 (43)IndiaGros Islet24 Jun 2024

Key Insights

0: 3 batters reached the 90s, but no one scored a century in the 2024 edition. This is only the second edition without a batter scoring a hundred, with the first being the 2009 T20 World Cup.

98: Nicholas Pooran slammed the highest individual score in the T20 World Cup 2024. The West Indies batter scored 98 runs off 53 balls at a strike rate of 184.90 against Afghanistan.

94: Runs scored by the USA’s Aaron Jones are the highest by an associate batter in T20 World Cup history. This is also the third-highest score while chasing in the competition.

5: Virat Kohli became the first batter to slam 5 fifty-plus scores in the T20 World Cup knockouts. Moreover, he became the third batter to score half-centuries in 2 T20 World Cup finals (2014 and 2024) after Kumar Sangakkara (2009 and 2014) and Marlon Samuels (2012 and 2016).

Most Sixes in T20 World Cup 2024

Nicholas Pooran (WI)717
Rahmanullah Gurbaz (AFG)816
Travis Head (AUS)715
Rohit Sharma (IND)815
Aaron Jones (USA)614
Heinrich Klaasen (SA)813
Quinton de Kock (SA)913
Andries Gous (USA)611
Shai Hope (WI)310
Marcus Stoinis (AUS)510

Key Insights

17: Nicholas Pooran smashed 17 sixes in 7 innings, the most in the ninth edition. This is also the most sixes by a batter in a single T20 World Cup edition, going past his former teammate Chris Gayle’s record of 16 maximums in 2012.

10: The number of sixes smashed by Aaron Jones in his 94-run knock against Canada. This is the joint second-most sixes hit by a batter in a T20 World Cup innings.

50: India’s captain, Rohit Sharma, became the second batter to strike 50 sixes in T20 World Cup history. Chris Gayle tops the six-hitting chart with 63 maximums to his name.

Most Wickets in T20 World Cup 2024

Fazalhaq Farooqi (AFG)8176.311/1
Arshdeep Singh (IND)8177.161/0
Jasprit Bumrah (IND)8154.170/0
Anrich Nortje (SA)9155.741/0
Rashid Khan (AFG)8146.172/0
Rishad Hossain (BAN)7147.760/0
Naveen-ul-Haq (AFG)8136.001/0
Alzarri Joseph (WI)7137.221/0
Adam Zampa (AUS)7136.671/0
Kagiso Rabada (SA)9136.290/0

Key Insights

17: Fazalhaq Farooqi and Arshdeep Singh were the joint highest wicket-takers in the T20 World Cup 2024. Both pacers picked up 17 wickets in 8 innings for Afghanistan and India, respectively.

1: They also went past Wanindu Hasaranga’s record of the most wickets in a single T20 World Cup edition. Hasaranga had grabbed 16 wickets in the 2021 edition.

4.17: The economy rate of Jasprit Bumrah is the best among the bowlers with 10+ wickets this edition. This is also the lowest economy rate by a bowler in a single edition, bettering Wanindu Hasaranga’s 5.20 in 2021 (minimum 10 wickets).

2: Only 2 bowlers — Fazalhaq Farooqi and the West Indies’ Akeal Hosein — grabbed a five-wicket haul in the 2024 iteration. Moreover, Farooqi also took 2 four-fers along with his captain, Rashid Khan.

1: Pat Cummins registered 2 consecutive hat-tricks in the 2024 edition, making him the first bowler to do so in T20 World Cup history. Chris Jordan was the other bowler to take a hat-trick this edition.

Best Bowling Figures in T20 World Cup 2024

PlayerBowling Figures (Overs)AgainstVenueDate
Fazalhaq Farooqi (AFG)5/9 (4)UgandaProvidence03 Jun 2024
Akeal Hosein (WI)5/11 (4)UgandaProvidence08 Jun 2024
Anrich Nortje (SA)4/7 (4)Sri LankaNew York03 Jun 2024
Tanzim Hasan Sakib (BAN)4/7 (4)NepalKingstown16 Jun 2024
Arshdeep Singh (IND)4/9 (4)U.S.A.New York12 Jun 2024
Chris Jordan (ENG)4/10 (2.5)U.S.A.Bridgetown23 Jun 2024
Ottniel Baartman (SA)4/11 (4)NetherlandsNew York08 Jun 2024
Adil Rashid (ENG)4/11 (4)OmanNorth Sound13 Jun 2024
Adam Zampa (AUS)4/12 (4)NamibiaNorth Sound11 Jun 2024
Rashid Khan (AFG)4/17 (4)New ZealandProvidence07 Jun 2024

Key Insights

1: Fazalhaq Farooqi delivered the best bowling figures in the T20 World Cup 2024. The Afghani pacer picked up 5 wickets for 9 wickets against Uganda.

4 for 17: The bowling figures registered by Rashid Khan are the best by a captain in T20 World Cup history. He also became the first captain to take 2 four-wicket hauls in a single edition.

Most Wicketkeeping Dismissals in T20 World Cup 2024

PlayerInningsTotal DismissalsCatchesStumpings
Rishabh Pant (IND)814131
Litton Das (BAN)7844
Nicholas Pooran (WI)7880
Quinton de Kock (SA)9862
Jos Buttler (ENG)8752
Devon Conway (NZ)4651
Rahmanullah Gurbaz (AFG)8660
Shreyas Movva (CAN)3550
Mohammad Rizwan (PAK)3440
Zane Green (NAM)4431

Key Insights

14: Rishabh Pant was involved in the most wicketkeeping dismissals in the T20 World Cup 2024. The Indian wicketkeeper took 13 catches and effected 1 stumping, aggregating 14 dismissals. 

1: Pant’s 14 dismissals are the most by a wicketkeeper in a single T20 World Cup edition. Moreover, he became the first keeper to register 10 or more dismissals in a single iteration.

Most Catches by Fielders in T20 World Cup 2024

PlayersInningsCatches Taken
Aiden Markram (SA)98
Glenn Maxwell (AUS)77
Harry Brook (ENG)87
Tristan Stubbs (SA)97
Tanzim Hasan Sakib (BAN)76
Mohammad Nabi (AFG)86
Heinrich Klaasen (SA)96
Logan van Beek (NED)45
Johnson Charles (WI)65
Tim David (AUS)75

Key Insights

8: Aiden Markram took the most catches in the T20 World Cup 2024. The South African captain plucked 8 catches in 9 innings. This is the joint second-most catches by a fielder in a single T20 World Cup instalment.

4: Markram and Glenn Maxwell held on to 4 catches each in an innings against Bangladesh and Namibia, respectively. They levelled Daren Sammy’s 2010 record of taking 4 catches — the most in a single innings.