It feels weird when a batsman doesn’t hit a single six while playing T20Is. Of course, there might be exceptional conditions, but sixes are like a staple for any batter.

Well, if you ask the mighty Chris Gayle or Suryakumar Yadav, they might even agree with that. Such batters have the knack for sending the ball flying into the stands from the word go.

On that note, let’s have a look at the top 10 instances of batters hitting the most sixes in a calendar year in T20Is.

Most Sixes in a Calendar Year in T20I

Suryakumar Yadav (IND)31682022
Muhammad Waseem (UAE)23542023
Muhammad Waseem (UAE)16432022
Suryakumar Yadav (IND)17432023
Mohammad Rizwan (PAK)26422021
Martin Guptill (NZ)18412021
Rovman Powell (WI)21392022
Tony Ura (PNG)11392022
Sikandar Raza (ZIM)11392023
Sikandar Raza (ZIM)23382022

Key Insights

1: India’s swashbuckling batter, Suryakumar Yadav, has hit the most sixes in a calendar year in the T20I format. SKY, as he is fondly called by fans, smashed a whopping 68 sixes in 2022. With that, he became the first batter to hammer 50-plus sixes in a calendar year in T20Is.

2: So far, only 2 batters — SKY and Muhammad Waseem — have slammed 50+ sixes in a single year in T20Is. UAE’s power-hitter Muhammad Waseem has smashed more than 50 sixes in 2023.

35: There are over 35 instances of batsmen hitting 30 or more T20I sixes in a calendar year. What’s more interesting is that most of these instances have come after 2021, indicating a drastic change in the T20I batting landscape.

2: There are 7 batters — SKY, Waseem, Tony Ura, Sikandar Raza, Evin Lewis, Nicholas Pooran, and Rohit Sharma — who have hit 30+ sixes in 2 or more calendar years.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *