Six-hitting has become more prevalent in the ever-evolving T20 format. The Indian Premier League (IPL) is no exception, with each passing season witnessing fireworks from batters.

The IPL teams also inducted power hitters like Chris Gayle, Rohit Sharma, and AB de Villiers in their ranks to inject sixes into their totals. As a result, these teams notched up significant maximums each and every season.

This article lists the teams with the most sixes in each IPL season.

Teams with Most Sixes in Each IPL Season

2008Kings XI Punjab9515
2009Deccan Chargers9916
2010Chennai Super Kings9716
2011Royal Challengers Bangalore9416
2012Royal Challengers Bangalore11716
2013Mumbai Indians11719
2014Mumbai Indians12717
2015Mumbai Indians12016
2016Royal Challengers Bangalore14216
2017Mumbai Indians11717
2018Chennai Super Kings14516
2019Kolkata Knight Riders14314
2020Mumbai Indians13716
2021Chennai Super Kings11516
2022Rajasthan Royals13717
2023Mumbai Indians14016
2024Sunrisers Hyderabad16614

Key Insights

The Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) hold the record for smashing the most sixes in a single IPL season. They went past CSK’s record of 145 sixes smashed in 2018, the year when CSK lifted their third title.

Except for the first 4 seasons, every other IPL season has seen at least one team hit 100+ sixes.

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) became the first team to smash more than 100 sixes in a single IPL season. The Bangalore team hit 117 maximums in 16 matches in the 2012 edition.

The Mumbai Indians (MI) have whacked 100 or more sixes in 9 IPL seasons, followed by RCB (7) and CSK (6).

2 instances of the Rajasthan Royals not crossing the 50-sixes mark in the IPL (45 in 2009 and 42 in 2011). The Kolkata Knight Riders and Deccan Chargers (now defunct) are the other 2 teams with fewer than 50 sixes in an IPL season (45 and 48 in 2011, respectively).

Inarticle 80

MI is the leading six-hitting team in the IPL, with over 1600 maximums in their account. RCB is the only other team with 1500+ sixes in the league.

Among individual players, mighty Chris Gayle leads the pack with an astounding tally of 357 sixes in 141 innings.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *