Most Indian Test Run-Scorers in Every Calendar Year since 1989

Sachin Tendulkar, the legendary Indian cricketer, made his debut on November 15th, 1989. Twenty-four years later, at Wankhede, he played his last Test match in 2013. Since then, he topped the top-scoring Indian Test batsmen list in eight calendar years.

We thought we would cover the leading runs scorers for India in Tests in every calendar year since 1989, which will be a valuable addition to our calendar year records section.

So here it is, the Indian highest Test runs scorers – year by year.

1989Sanjay Manjarekar7691364.082183
1990Mohammed Azharuddin7521075.201923
1991Manoj Prabhakar110436.6654*0
1992Sachin Tendulkar4191141.90148*3
1993Vinod Kambli7938113.292274
1994Sachin Tendulkar7001170.001792
1995Ajay Jadeja180445.00730
1996Sachin Tendulkar6231541.531772
1997Sachin Tendulkar10001762.501694
1998Sachin Tendulkar647980.881773
1999Sachin Tendulkar10881968.002175
2000Rahul Dravid6241178.00200*2
2001Sachin Tendulkar10031862.691553
2002Sachin Tendulkar13922655.681934
2003Rahul Dravid80310100.382332
2004Virender Sehwag11411963.393093
2005Virender Sehwag7021263.822012
2006Rahul Dravid10952260.831463
2007Sourav Ganguly11061961.442393
2008Virender Sehwag14622756.233196
2009Rahul Dravid7471083.001772
2010Sachin Tendulkar15622378.102147
2011Rahul Dravid11452357.25146*5
2012Virat Kohli6891649.211163
2013Cheteshwar Pujara8291375.362043
2014Murali VIjay8522042.601462
2015Virat Kohli6401542.671472
2016Virat Kohli12151875.942354
2017Cheteshwar Pujara11401867.062024
2018Virat Kohli13222455.081535
2019Mayank Agarwal7541168.552432
2020Ajinkya Rahane272838.861121
2021Rohit Sharma9062147.681612
Highest Test Runs for India – Every Year since 1989

Stats Highlights

Players who have topped the chart in more than one years, since 1989, are

  1. Sachin Tendulkar – 8
  2. Rahul Dravid – 5
  3. Virat Kohli – 4
  4. Virender Sehwag – 3
  5. Cheteshwar Pujara – 2

Tendulkar topped the overall chart twice in his Test career in 1999 & 2010, whereas Virat Kohli and Rahul Dravid ended up the highest calendar year run-scorer once each in Test cricket.

Sunil Gavaskar, on the other hand, topped the overall chart four times in his career before 1989. Check here for the overall calendar year top-scorers chart for every year since 1877.

Sachin Tendulkar holds the record for most Test centuries in a calendar year among the Indian batsmen Р7 in 2010. Read here to know who holds the record overall.

Virender Sehwag, the only Indian batsman to score two triple centuries in Test cricket, featured thrice in this chart, with his big knocks splitting every year.

You can also read year-wise Test career stats for Virat Kohli and Sachin Tendulkar to understand how consistent they have been in the majority of their career.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *