Here are the top 10 batsmen who scored the most Test runs in a calendar year. The list has some exciting players who have made a whole year of Test cricket their own.

No batter yet has ever crossed the mark of 2000 runs in a single year of Test cricket. And the possibility of someone achieving a feat of 2000 Test runs inside a year is less likely as cricketers now have 3 formats to play.

Considering the last decade, Alastair Cook ruled the 2010s by topping the decade chart for Test runs.

Now, let’s look into the list of players with the maximum runs scored in a single calendar year.

Most Test Runs in a Calendar Year

Mohammad Yousuf (PAK)17882006111999.3392021
Viv Richards (WI)1710197611199072910
Joe Root (ENG)1708202115296162281
Graeme Smith (SA)1656200815257262322
Michael Clarke (AUS)159520121118106.335329*3
Sachin Tendulkar (IND)15622010142378.172143
Sunil Gavaskar (IND)15551979182759.852211
Ricky Ponting (AUS)15442005152867.1362075
Ricky Ponting (AUS)150320031118100.262573
Kumar Sangakkara (SL)14932014122271.0943191

Key Stats

Interestingly, Virat Kohli, who has 6 (the most ever) calendar years with 2500+ international runs across formats, didn’t find place either in this list or ODI’s.

The former Australian captain Michael Clarke, who had a wonderful year in 2010, is the only batsman in this list to have a 100+ batting average in his peak year in Test.

2012 was the year Michael Clarke scored the record for the most 200s in a single year. Find how Virat Kohli came so close twice to break Clarke’s record of maximum double centuries in a calendar year here.

Graeme Smith’s highest score in 2008 – 232 came against Bangladesh in a world record partnership for the 1st wicket with Neil Mckenzie.

Joe Root, the English record holder for the calendar year run-aggregates in Test cricket, scored 2 double centuries scores along with a 180 this year. He also scored 3 other centuries and 6 fifties in 2021. He missed the second-placed Vivian Richards’ 1976 tally by just 2 runs.

The 7 Test centuries in Viv Richard’s 1710 runs-tally in 1976 (a record which stood for 30 years) put him along with Ricky Ponting, Aravinda De Silva, and Sachin Tendulkar for the joint 2nd place in the list of Most Test Centuries in a Calendar Year.

Inarticle 80

The year 2006 belonged to two cricketers – Mohammad Yousuf and Muttiah Muralitharan.

Mohammad Yousuf scored 1788 in 2006, which is the maximum number of runs scored in Test cricket in a calendar year. Here’s how Mohammad Yousuf made the year 2006 his own.

Muralitharan, on the other hand, enjoyed the best year of his career that year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *