Stats: Bowlers with Most Wickets in a Season for Each IPL Team

As a bowler, there’s nothing more special than keeping the opponent’s batters in check. And it becomes even more remarkable if the bowlers outclass batters in a tournament like the IPL.

The IPL has seen batters dominate the scene. However, bowlers have also left no stone unturned, producing some stellar bowling performances.

A few of them have wreaked havoc on the opposition by scalping heaps of wickets in a particular season for their respective teams. 

In this article, we’ll look at the list of bowlers with the most wickets in a season for each IPL team.

Most Wickets in a Season for Each IPL Team

PlayerWickets in an IPL SeasonSeasonTeam
Dwayne Bravo322013Chennai Super Kings
Harshal Patel322021Royal Challengers Bengaluru
Kagiso Rabada302020Delhi Capitals
Lasith Malinga282011Mumbai Indians
James Faulkner282013Rajasthan Royals
Mohammed Shami282023Gujarat Titans
Bhuvneshwar Kumar262017Sunrisers Hyderabad
Sunil Narine242012Kolkata Knight Riders
Jaydev Unadkat242017Rising Pune Supergiant
Andrew Tye242018Punjab Kings
RP Singh232009Deccan Chargers
Dhawal Kulkarni182016Gujarat Lions
Avesh Khan182022Lucknow Super Giants
Rahul Sharma162011Pune Warriors
RP Singh132011Kochi Tuskers Kerala

Key Insights

Dwayne Bravo and Harshal Patel hold the joint record for picking up the most wickets in a single IPL season. Both took 32 wickets, with Bravo doing it first in 2013 for CSK and Patel levelling Bravo’s record in 2021 for RCB.

In 2013, Bravo became the first bowler to breach the 30-wicket milestone in an IPL season. Whereas Sohail Tanvir was the first to scalp 20+ wickets in a single edition. The pacer picked up 22 wickets for Rajasthan in the inaugural tourney, bagging the Purple Cap for taking the most wickets in 2008.

Bravo and Kagiso Rabada are the only 2 bowlers who have grabbed 25 or more wickets in multiple seasons for a single IPL team. Bravo (32 in 2013 & 26 in 2015) and Rabada (25 in 2019 & 30 in 2020) did it twice for Chennai and Delhi, respectively.

Yuzvendra Chahal (RCB & RR), Rashid Khan (SRH & GT), Mohit Sharma (CSK & GT), Mohammed Shami (PBKS & GT), and Rabada (DC & PBKS) have bagged 20 or more wickets in a season for 2 different teams.

Inarticle 80

Yorker King Lasith Malinga picked up 20 or more wickets in an IPL season the most times for a single IPL team. The Sri Lankan speedster grabbed 20+ wickets in 2011, 2012, 2013, and 2015.

RP Singh is the only bowler to pick up the most wickets in a season for 2 IPL teams. The left-hand pacer scalped 23 wickets for Deccan Chargers in 2009 and 13 wickets for Kochi Tuskers Kerala in 2011.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *